NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Need help with this scam URL

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2010, 04:58 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
enlong is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Need help with this scam URL


I got an email for the typical craigslist scam and it pointed me to the URL accounts-34581.login.dd-cr-12-11.com/login/

I've checked the URL in firefox and IE and it comes up but when I try to do a whois search or check to see if the domain is available, it comes up as not registered.

Why is this?
Last edited by mis_chiff; 08-12-2010 at 11:52 PM.
enlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,412
lothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to beholdlothos is a splendid one to behold
 



the url does not work for me.

What I suspect is going on, is the text link is different from the actual url link.
lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
If only you knew...
 
maximum's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Inside your head...
Posts: 990
maximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond repute
 


Child Abuse Special Olympics Save a Life Baby Health Autism
Originally Posted by lothos View Post
the url does not work for me.

What I suspect is going on, is the text link is different from the actual url link.
Correct The domain dd-cr-12-11.com is not registered (and my little helper tells me it never was ) The "accounts-34581.login." part (http://accounts-34581.login.dd-cr-12-11.com) is just a subdomain to something that never was. Like lothos said, the email showed one address, but the link it actually was supposed to go to (that was "swapped" in the email's HTML) was some place totally diffrent. The scammer messed up This is a VERY common (sadly) "scam"/"con" method used in emails (called "phishing" - More Info). An example is the link below (makes you think it goes to my website MyDomains.net, but actually links to NamePros.com home-page ):
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/671896-need-help-with-this-scam-url.html

http://mydomains.net

If your email service has the option, try viewing the "original"/"full"/"html" version of the email.
__________________
--- The greatest truths ever told, and the greatest lies ever told, all consist of exactly the same three words:
"I LOVE YOU"
--- The best say little, only say what is important.....then they shut up and sit down.
maximum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:43 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
enlong is an unknown quantity at this point
 



ok well now its down. But I promise it worked before. And the URL I posted was direct from the browser when I visited the page.

I did a whois search at networksolutions, which was the only source able to provide details about the domain, and it said that the domain had been registered on the 11th at register.com (this no longer shows now) But none of the other whois searches would report anything about the domain, saying it was unregistered. This is what had me stumped.

Ok, big facepalm. I realized that the site must have been taken down prior to me discovering it for the second time. It was saved in temp the first time I accessed it so every time I visited the link after it would appear in the browser. I still have proof that it did exist, so that I can prove that I'm not crazy.
Last edited by enlong; 08-13-2010 at 02:03 AM.
enlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 03:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
If only you knew...
 
maximum's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Inside your head...
Posts: 990
maximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond reputemaximum has a reputation beyond repute
 


Child Abuse Special Olympics Save a Life Baby Health Autism
Well, maybe my little helper ()was wrong...It's not the first time he's been wrong, so I'll now have to teach him to check his facts better (the teacher:) Could just have been registered long enough to hit a few with the scam, then deleted during the grace-period allowed, so not only did user hit a few then disappear, but also ended-up getting money back or credit for domain's registration after scamming folks with it for a few days Might explain why not showing-up anywhere. But, at least, that one is gone, incase others who got sent same email have yet to read it. Hope is, he didn't get any beforehand

PS: I wasn't saying you were crazy
__________________
--- The greatest truths ever told, and the greatest lies ever told, all consist of exactly the same three words:
"I LOVE YOU"
--- The best say little, only say what is important.....then they shut up and sit down.
maximum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger