NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Fake Facebook Email SCAM

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2010, 02:23 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Earthian's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 926
Earthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud ofEarthian has much to be proud of
 



Fake Facebook Email SCAM



hey guys (and gals)


I received a fake Facebook email (regarding a message I "received" from a woman) that is actually a spoof


the links on the email are directing to a different site than facebook (I didn't go to it in case it was filled with virii) and also when you hover over the links nothing appears on the status bar (however when you right-click on them you can see the fake address)


also , the "from:" field is changed/manipulated to seem like the email is from facebook






the reason I am posting it in this forum is because I received the email in the email address that I use only for whois (the email address is not connected to a facebook account) ... therefore , it is a clear attempt to steal my facebook password with the intention to guess the password of my domain account


actually this is the second email of this type ... I received another one to the same address a couple of days ago (but I think that one was for an addfriend request)
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/671051-fake-facebook-email-scam.html






therefore , please be careful when you click a link on any email (... even if you are in a hurry to check out the babe that send you a message or an addfriend lol)

Last edited by Earthian; 08-07-2010 at 06:20 PM.
Earthian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger