| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,025
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | New Possible Scam... I only ask this because I have 2 very generic .net's which are protected by privacy protection, they are extremely generic in value. I received 2 seperate emails at the same time for both these domains from "Aldo Landucci" Dear Sirs, I'd be interested in a possible purchase of your domain xxxxxxxx; please, let me know if you wish to sell and your best asking price for a possible quick deal or, at least, your price expectations around whom negotiating. I'm serious and I can guarantee a smooth transaction closed through EscrowDns.com or any other authorized domain brokerage services or, if you're a verified paypal.com member, I can pay in advance through them, no problem. You'd transfer the domain in my hands only at payment confirmed, we'd discuss these details in a second time. Just for your curiosity, I'm acquiring few generic domains to develop with targeted content in the next months during my spare time so, if you've other domains no longer useful to you, kindly send me a list to talk about a possible sale of the same, I guarantee a quick reply in any case. Kind regards Mr. Aldo Landucci ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/665254-new-possible-scam.html *************** Anyone have any experience with this? |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| www.DataCube.com Join Date: Apr 2007 Location: USA
Posts: 5,838
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I am not sure what the potential scam is but I received a couple of these exact emails as well. Brad
__________________ DataCube.com - Buy and Sell Premium Domains |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,025
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I am guessing the reply would hold the key, I googled it, there are tricklings of this email going to many domainers, but nobody really has any idea on any motives. Seems like dictionary words were targeted via the email. |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Aug 2007 Location: Rod.Tv
Posts: 7,369
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | he has not asked for money or an appraisal ............seems worth answering
__________________ Start your business with.... AllDogWalking.Com Business Information School Study Guide Blonde |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
![]() | received this today as well for one of my generic .net up till now it does not seem like spam , you have to reply and wait may be someone targetting generic .net thinking they are cheaper than dot com I am also hesitated to reply but if anyone got a reply please let everyone knows
__________________ MedicalResearches.com |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 185
![]() ![]() | When they start out with "Dear Sirs," a little light goes off above my head. Yeah, I got one too, for a .net domain. Replied with, "I've been looking for a buyer for years. Anything above registration fee will be considered. Thank you for your interest." No reply, yet. Same guy as mentioned by thread starter. He's using a free hush.com email account. |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| Forum Moderator ![]() Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: USA
Posts: 2,152
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=665254 There's a post at another certain big domain forum by the previous owner of EscrowDNS saying he doesn't know who this person is and that they aren't affiliated with the escrow service. Sounds to me like it could be a variation on the appraisal scheme form letter. Why discuss payments before you know if the domain's available? Why that last paragraph? That's the same format as those other letters, just different wording. And "around whom negotiating?" If this were a major investor one would think he'd have someone proofread his grammar before sending out that many emails. Or it could be someone legitimately looking to buy a bunch of generic domains .. I guess the only way to find out is to reply and report back when you hear something.
__________________ Enlytend Solutions - Internet marketing and web development Was my advice helpful? Please consider a small donation to the National Canine Cancer Foundation - a tax deductible 501(c)(3)that directly funds cancer research
Last edited by enlytend; 07-06-2010 at 10:26 AM.
| ||||
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2010 Location: India
Posts: 1,461
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It's good to be suspicious. But there's also a possibility that somebody got a bit spare funds and looking to get and develop a big name. It maybe that he's just looking for generic options and trying to find a good deal. Or he might not have replied due to threads like this. But again "maybe". Though i'd be suspicious if he promises to buy many names. Lets see where this goes. |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #13 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,025
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Possible clue, I decided to reply through a random email to this person, next day, I received a very lowball offer via sedo from a buyer based in Malaysia, I countered with a mid high $x,xxx counter, heard nothing back, likely this person created a script, that scrapes whois of generic domains, sends mass emails, and maybe can make some deals with owners who no longer care, or want their domains. |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 123
![]() | Something similar I get, spam, that says someone wants to buy other extensions of my dot com domain and ask if it's ok considering trade marks.
__________________ American Domain Market - New .COMs only $9.99 and other great prices. |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: Milano
Posts: 1,089
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Received for a generic .net. Replied with 5.000$ and never heard again.
__________________ Sunglasses.tv |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
![]() | It is 99% certain to be a scam. I joined a group to learn more about the ins and outs of Domain Name Selling .. so I do not want to give the game away entirely (having paid good money). However a valuable tip for you is : DO NOT STATE YOUR PRICE to the purported buyer. If your curiosity is too great then reply saying you might consider selling if you got a GENUINE OFFER from a buyer who disclosed their full particulars up front instead of hiding behind a veil of mystique! ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=665254 p.s. ... there are various scams these phoney buyers try: from simple click a link to .. Oh before I part with $Xthousand for your domain name I need you to provide a proper valuation from the xyzshonkydomainvaluers.com (So you fork out money for a valuation from the scammer or his cronies)
__________________ Education in whatever pursuit you follow will help performance www.DomainsBillionaire.com
Last edited by deant; 07-08-2010 at 03:46 AM.
|
| | |