NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Suit filed.

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2010, 11:35 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,513
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



Caution Suit filed.


This just came it and we are pretty sure it's an exploit designed to get people to click on a link to a spreadsheet that will infeact your computer. We are not sure because we did not click on the link, but there are many things about this that make us think it's bogus. I have reported it to the owner of the site and the hosting provider and will post again if I hear back from them.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/661527-suit-filed.html

Quote:
-----Original Message-----
From: Mauro Blackwell [mailto:mauro_blackwell_rm@novelideas-ragas.com]
Sent: Sunday, June 13, 2010 5:41 PM
To: chris
Subject: ***SPAM*** Suit filed.


We have been informed of the website(s) you'r company owns, registered through Go Daddy Domains. As the registrant, we asks that you remove all references to us and our products.

As a network marketing company we do not permit its name to be used in any URL or email address and the company must take necessary action to protect its intellectual property. It is not permitted for a third party vendor to use our trade name in any form.

Link to a list of the trademark material: h t t p://www,novelideas-books.com/.../spreadsheet.xls

Our companie's name and symbol is a registered trademark. (U.S. Reg. Nos. 3111333, 3111332, 78526279). Our companie's federal registration of these trademarks provides our company with the right to restrict the use of the trademark, or a confusingly similar trademark, in any way that misrepresents the origin of our companie's products or dilutes the companie's brand and goodwill associated therewith.

State and federal law supports our position that the use of our trademarks and proprietary copyrighted material may cause confusion among customers. This confusion may cause substantial harm to the trademark by facilitating the loss of its effectiveness in establishing a distinct association between it, our products & services, and the companie's goodwill. Your unauthorized use of the companie's federally registered trademarks amounts to an infringement of our companie's trademark rights.

We wishe to settle this situation amicably and therefore, requests that you immediately cease the use of our trade name. Additionally, we request that you respond to this email within seven (7) days to confirm this action via email.

Respectfully,

Distributor Compliance Specialist
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Business Member

 
johname's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,990
johname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatness
 



(U.S. Reg. Nos. 3111333, 3111332, 78526279) are the MonaVie Acai Berry people from what i understand.
johname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 01:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
CureCancer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,164
CureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond reputeCureCancer has a reputation beyond repute
 


Cancer Survivorship
keep us updated
__________________
Government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the Earth.
Abraham Lincoln
CureCancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
defaultuser's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pen Island
Posts: 4,218
defaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatnessdefaultuser Has achieved greatness
 



Buy a Mac and click on the link.. lol... they're IMMUNE!


NO LEGAL firm would ever write such a poorly written letter. If they did then they should be fired and a proper firm hired.
__________________

Defaultuser R.I.P.
defaultuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 06:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
First Time Poster!
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
chumphrey is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I also received a message like this today - the spreadsheet reads as "broken" in Office 2007 and "needs to be fixed." When I tried to upload to Google Docs to view the file it refused the file as well.

Nope, sorry, ain't doin' it!

The message we received came from "Willis Porter" at willisporter_iq@novelideas-hasta.com but otherwise it was identical. I'm going to file this in the circular bin.

Thanks for posting the text of your message so I could find a quick answer!
chumphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:05 PM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,513
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



They are still at it. Can anyone safely look at the spreadsheet and let us know what's in it? This seems to be a major effort to get people to click on their trap...!
Quote:
-----Original Message-----
From: Tameka K. Manuel [mailto:tamekamanuel_kd@novelideas-tawas.com]
Sent: Monday, June 14, 2010 8:49 AM
To: tian @elsetech.com
Subject: ***SPAM*** Intelectual Property suit filed.

????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=661527
Our company is a registered trademark, the logo our company uses, shown along with you'r companie's website links can be be found at the following address: ht tp: //www,stjohnlutheran,org/spreadsheet.xls

For your information, we enclose copies of the federal registrations of our trademark in the United States. Corresponding trademark registrations exist in most foreign countries throughout the world. There is no question that this symbol is a very well known trademark.

On behalf of our clients, we hereby give you formal notice of our clients' rights in this trademark, and demand that you immediately cease and desist from all unauthorized use of this trademark. This will include removal of this trademark from your web page and assurances that you will refrain from all future unauthorized use of this trademark.

Your immediate response and removal of this symbol are required. If we have not received your response by August 1, 2010 with assurance of your immediate compliance, our client will be compelled to consider litigation to protect its rights.

Very truly yours,
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Business Member

 
johname's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,990
johname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatnessjohname Has achieved greatness
 



all three of those trademark serial numbers are associated with MONA·VIE Have you ever used that name or heard of it before??
johname is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger