NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Scammer Warning: zenerktzh@gmail.com

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
9 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2009, 10:23 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
DOA Domains is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Caution Scammer Warning: zenerktzh@gmail.com


An e-mail trail follows which looks like an attempted scam by a "Zen" with the e-mail address of zenerktzh@gmail.com. The scam didn't play out because I didn't fall for it as I think the scammer intended. After a few e-mail exchanges, the scammer apparently decided to move on to other potential victims. Beware if you get a similar e-mail.

"Zen" offered via e-mail to buy one of my domains for $100. I replied in agreement. Later that day, I received another e-mail from "Zen" stating that he would proceed with the transaction. Five minutes later, I received the following e-mail, again from "Zen":

<snip>

Melkov,

See below. I have negotiated the very domain we wanted <domain name removed> for a mere $100. Please call your contact at Lean Cuisine and get the contract moving. Place the asking price of $1M like we discussed. It is a premium domain and we can easily convince them to take it.

I just called Robbie in the procurement dept and left him a message. I had lunch with him last week and got the hint that their domain budget itself is over $1M, so lets milk this for everything we can.

Call me in the morning, I will buy this domain in the morning.

Zen

<snip>

When I replied to the above e-mail (see below), "Zen" wrote that he had sent the e-mail to me by mistake and asked if the domain was still for sale at $100 to which I responded that it was (read from bottom to top):

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: RE: <domain name removed> domain
From: <my e-mail removed>
Date: Tue, December 22, 2009 10:29 pm
To: "zenerktzh meister" <zenerktzh@gmail.com>

We don't have a deal until you conclude the transaction, which you haven't. If I were you and I was planning on selling a domain for a zillion dollars, I would make sure that I immediately bought the domain before someone else did. It's a little odd that you haven't done so. Therefore, I suggest that you hop onto Sedo.com NOW (and not later this morning) and plunk down your $100 on the domain.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/630276-scammer-warning-zenerktzh-gmail-com.html

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: <domain name removed> domain
From: zenerktzh meister <zenerktzh@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, December 22, 2009 9:59 pm
To: <my e-mail removed>

Hello,

Sorry I sent the email to wrong person. That email is about other deal I am working.

We still have a deal for $100. right?

Thanks
Zen
DOA Domains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 01:27 PM THREAD STARTER               #2 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
DOA Domains is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Juan,

I have a feeling he was expecting me to increase the domain price based on his supposedly "miss-sent" e-mail. Then, after I increased my price, he would "reluctantly" agree to the higher price and probably ask me to "invest" something to make the deal happen. When I didn't get greedy and boost the sale price, he realized that I wasn't going to fall for his scam. I'm getting so good at these scams, it's like a typical movie I watch--I can predict what's going to happen without much effort. P.S. If you think there might be something legit to this, my domain is still for sale if you'd like to buy it from me for a $100 and then you can e-mail the guy to sell it to him for more.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=630276

---------- Post added at 01:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:45 PM ----------

Here's the last e-mail I got. Too funny!

Hello, yes I am ready to buy domain. My business partner would like to move forward. However since we are in Croatia, we are waiting for funds. We have a check from our client for $1000. However we cannot cash it here since it can only be cashed in the united states. I shall send this check via speed mail to you.

Once you receive this check, you can keep the $100 and please send the other $900 via western union. Please send me your name and address so I can send the check. Hurry before christmas as you shall get money soon and have spending money. I know things are tough for you people is USA. Hope to hear from you soon.
DOA Domains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Along with BatMan..
 
Robin's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Web
Posts: 1,361
Robin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant future
 




Ahhhaa...scammers always use emails
__________________
Live your life


Signature for sale
Robin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger