NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page ALERT: Phishing Scam - GoDaddy Targetted

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2009, 12:19 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
www.demonised.com

 
RicoShay's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 2,956
RicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond repute
 


Tsunami Relief Protect Our Planet Save a Life Child Abuse

ALERT: Phishing Scam - GoDaddy Targetted


PHISHING ALERT: DOMAINERS BEWARE

I just received an email appearing to be from GoDaddy.com - alerting me to multiple invalid login attempts on my account. It gave a link asking me to proceed to setup extra security.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/592310-alert-phishing-scam-godaddy-targetted.html

The email looks exactly like most legit emails I get from GoDaddy. But it just didn't sound right. I hovered over the link and immediately noticed it to be a hoax. It starts of like
Code:
http://godaddy.com.48673468909234902340X9238.search799.com
I clicked on it to take a closer look. I was presented with a page that looked identical to the GD login pages. Even the certificate at the bottom is faked almost to perfection. However, the domain where this page is hosted is "search799.com" (admin please remove if you find it inappropriate).

Amongst other things I found a fake Barclays Bank site also on the same domain.


WARNING: We all need to be extra vigilant, especially when clicking through links either via email or otherwise. As a rule, I always type in my registrars url manually - I never click through on a link without inspecting it first. Everyone needs to be aware of these scams. Your domains are at risk, so pay that little extra bit of attention.


Pay attention to the links, the most important part is the just before the first forward slash - right after the extension.

eg.

Code:
http://namepros.com.7897983-04.security.fakedom.com/example
in that example "fakedom.com" is the domain and not namepros.com as it might appear at first glance. Scam links generally use subdomains with names of popular sites to make it appear like its the real deal.


Btw. I'm not sure who, how or where to report this issue. Please feel free to take some action and give advice on what to do with such cases.
__________________
FOR SALE @ NamePros:
TDJ.in + RLI.in + EDE.in + ATJ.in + more | NEW YEARS SALE - Upto 40% OFF!
RicoShay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 680
ddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud ofddchan has much to be proud of
 



Thanks for alert. I just received the same scam emails.
The whois for search799 shows:

Registrant:
Jackie Robinson
140 Marlborough Street
Henley Beach
Adelaide, South Australia 5022
Australia

Domain Name: SEARCH799.COM
Created on: 25-Nov-07
Expires on: 25-Nov-09
Last Updated on: 16-Jun-09

Administrative Contact:
Robinson, Jackie
140 Marlborough Street
Henley Beach
Adelaide, South Australia 5022
Australia
(088) 356-6285 Fax --

email jackie_e_ryan@hotmail.com
ddchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 07:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
www.DataCube.com
 
bmugford's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 5,819
bmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatness
 


Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Cancer Survivorship Cancer Survivorship Cancer Cancer Breast Cancer Breast Cancer Parkinson's Disease Alzheimer's SIDS Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS)
I just received about 10 of the exact same emails. The first giveaway was that the email came to my whois email, which is different than my account email. The link pointed to cyber-edge.com, which is registered on GoDaddy using Domains By Proxy, pretty ironic.

I would like to report this but have no idea who to report it to.

Brad
__________________
DataCube.com - Buy and Sell Premium Domains
Add Me on Facebook
bmugford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 10:58 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
www.demonised.com

 
RicoShay's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 2,956
RicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond reputeRicoShay has a reputation beyond repute
 


Tsunami Relief Protect Our Planet Save a Life Child Abuse
Originally Posted by bmugford View Post
I just received about 10 of the exact same emails. The first giveaway was that the email came to my whois email, which is different than my account email. The link pointed to cyber-edge.com, which is registered on GoDaddy using Domains By Proxy, pretty ironic.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=592310

I would like to report this but have no idea who to report it to.

Brad
So, its quite common then. Just as I feared.

I've no clue how to go about reporting it either. I'm surprised there's not been much response here.

ddchan, nice work with the whois info lol.

Would be nice to get more input here.
This is quite a serious issue.

__________________
FOR SALE @ NamePros:
TDJ.in + RLI.in + EDE.in + ATJ.in + more | NEW YEARS SALE - Upto 40% OFF!
RicoShay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Uk
Posts: 1,028
shane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to behold
 



I would send godaddy a mail.They should be made aware.
shane mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
turnhardtoeasy's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,750
turnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond reputeturnhardtoeasy has a reputation beyond repute
 




i think the websites are removed now...
ny wasy thanks for updating us regarding the issue
__________________
turnhardtoeasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 07:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Account Suspended
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 76
somebody_rb is an unknown quantity at this point
 



thanks for the alert
somebody_rb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many names for sale $1 to $270 ssamriga Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 6 08-21-2009 10:25 AM
73 Domains for Sale Check it out (Fixed Price) Smiler Domains For Sale - Fixed Price 5 06-25-2008 10:01 AM
Great Domains sale Com/Org/Mobi/Biz/Info uber Domains For Sale - Make Offer 1 07-05-2007 12:11 PM
<<< 1/2 Price Sale thru Sunday >>> yandig Domains For Sale - Make Offer 1 05-14-2006 07:04 PM

Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger