| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||
| Membership Director Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Canada
Posts: 9,207
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | New Domain Renewal Scam A heads up...... Just received this in my email from dservcs6468@hotmail.com (invalid) Rather intimidating freaks.....
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=588616 1) I don't even own the domain anymore 2) It never expired in June before [and still doesn't] 3) they have an invalid email and only a FAX # for a reply A domain service company that doesn't have their own domain HAHA - LOSERS!Even the unsubscribe email is a scam
Last edited by mis_chiff; 06-08-2009 at 12:42 AM.
| ||||
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,558
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Fortunately the scammers are often dumb and give themselves away ![]() PS: googled the phone number Domain Submission Center scam
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 91
![]() | Even this statement was so dumb for an e-mail newsletter service.
__________________ New Pligg Taga Bicol Social Bookmarking Site || Street 3D Arts Selling my New Poker Casino Gambling domain. PM or tweet me @raphnix for offers and interested buyers. | ||||
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: May 2009 Location: Barnsley, United Kingdom
Posts: 665
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | registration scam Hello there. A very similar thing happened to me a few years ago. They tried hard to disguise who they were but I located them and wrote an article which was then published around the world. I believe they were subsequently sued for large ammounts of money by one of the main ICANN members. You can still read this article if you wish at United Kingdom, Intellectual Property, Domain Registrants Beware - DomainWords - 26/07/2002, IT & Internet but it was written 7 years ago. I will try to locate the actual senders of the email you were sent, because they may pop up in many aliasas. I will do the search in a few hours and post here if I find anything of value. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=588616 Regards Ralph ralph@ralphcockrell.com |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| dot TV'er Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,757
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got the same email for an .info that I had recently dropped.......Who in their right mind would fals for a $75/yr registration for a .info.....Lol I didn't click on the link as I never do with these things just in case it is a keylogger or virus. |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Largest aftermarket keyword .tv sale (DONT MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY) | *AllThings.tv* | .TV Marketplace | 8 | 09-01-2008 04:37 AM |
| Redemption Grace Period | TopNames.com | Domain Newbies | 1 | 07-31-2007 12:04 PM |
| Some tips for noobie.. | slaydragon | Domain Newbies | 3 | 03-01-2006 11:08 AM |
| Domain Names ( Registered / 1997-2004 ) | SWD | Domain Appraisals | 9 | 10-24-2004 09:14 AM |