NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page XTS - Someone trying to sell my domain.

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2009, 07:24 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
bumajj is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I fell for it.


Hi guys.
It's really painful that I got this site quite late. I'm the latest victim of eliteinvestment.net.
A guy y name Urbansky: urbansky@eliteinvestment.net sent me the same message I've read from other people here,
I found your domain, how much is it, have you done appraisal...
I'm new to this domain business, so I fell for all the tricks of domain appraisals.
I wanted to use sedo.com, but he refused, arguing that since I parked my domains with sedo, it wasn't likely we'd get unbiased assessment. He said he wouldn't paying a higher price, if the price came out much higher. My instinct told me to be suspicious, but ignorance and inexperience made me fall for it.
I did the appraisal for 60euros, using domainexplorer.org, and the price came up higher to $5,350 (I had listed it for $1,500). I was happy about the outcome of the appraisal, so I sent the result along with the appraisal certificate link, to him.
That did it. All my messages were returned undelivered. I checked his website again, it didn't come up on the server.
And today, I just decided to google eliteinvestment.net. I found myself here.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/579324-xts-someone-trying-sell-my-domain.html
It's so unfortunate that I didn't research this out before now.
Well, nothing much is lost, as I now know the real value of my domain. Hopefully, someone else will buy.
Thanks guys, for these posts.
I have a lot to learn from this business. And I'm willing to.
Now, I have many domains listed for sale. I'll do the right thing next time I received such an offer - google 'em out.
bumajj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
tvdotcoms's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
tvdotcoms is just really nicetvdotcoms is just really nicetvdotcoms is just really nicetvdotcoms is just really nice
 



the domain was XTS,com?


i think that domain is owned by exponent on this forum
tvdotcoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 1,790
testingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud oftestingyou has much to be proud of
 



Im curious, what made you believe that e-mail?

Im not joking or making fun of you. Its just... that its hard to even get replies back when I send a serious offer to buy a domain name, AND these scam e-mails gets responds? how is that?

Maybe i should use their e-mail, to contact owners of domain names I am interested in buying, cause it seems they are more succesfull in getting answers then my serious e-mails.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=579324

Just to clarify, Im not sending scam e-mails or anything like that. I occasionally contact domain name owners which I want to buy domain names from and I dont even get a reply back.

But... Im sorry to hear that you fell for it.
__________________
World Food Programme - No Children Should Go To Bed Hungry. It's simple, it's not rocket science, not political, not cultural, not religion, not complicated... It's this simple!.
I have decided that I will donate 10% of what I make from selling domain names in 2012 to the above programme.
testingyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 09:04 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
bumajj is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by testingyou View Post
Im curious, what made you believe that e-mail?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=579324

Im not joking or making fun of you. Its just... that its hard to even get replies back when I send a serious offer to buy a domain name, AND these scam e-mails gets responds? how is that?

Maybe i should use their e-mail, to contact owners of domain names I am interested in buying, cause it seems they are more succesfull in getting answers then my serious e-mails.

Just to clarify, Im not sending scam e-mails or anything like that. I occasionally contact domain name owners which I want to buy domain names from and I dont even get a reply back.

But... Im sorry to hear that you fell for it.
Well, i guess there's always a price for ignorance. I've learnt my lessons. lol.
bumajj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 09:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 159
sanfran is an unknown quantity at this point
 




call cc & ask for a charge back
__________________
WhatName
JTravel
NYC Foreclosure
sanfran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Along with BatMan..
 
Robin's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Web
Posts: 1,244
Robin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant futureRobin has a brilliant future
 




always search before taking any action
__________________
Live your life


Signature for sale
Robin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 02:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Domains my Dominion
 
sdsinc's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,558
sdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatness
 


Third World Education Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty AIDS/HIV Animal Rescue Wildlife Breast Cancer Animal Rescue Wildlife
Originally Posted by sanfran View Post
call cc & ask for a charge back
Yep, recover your money. Hopefully, more victims will do the same until their merchant account is terminated
__________________
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
sdsinc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 01:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bonzer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,032
bonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to allbonzer is a name known to all
 



Recovering the money via CC is the way to start.
and like you have said lesson learnt

I just find it so so annoying that scammers are out there and when there are more decent people out there you are sometimes suspicious of them
bonzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 03:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
redslazers's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 168
redslazers is on a distinguished road
 



I think becuase scammers have alot more practice in sounding legitiment while the normal person has no idea and they are all outfitted to commit the crimes
redslazers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 02:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
DomainSeller1967 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I am attempting to get my money back through PayPal as I also got an appraisal done as the result of a similar email offering to buy my domain: TextaPsychic.mobi for $15 k

The company behind this is DomainExporer.com - called Plimus on PayPal. Hopefully I will get my $84 back. This is the first time I have put any of my domains up for sale and I guess this is how you learn - by making mistakes.

Humbling though.
DomainSeller1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger