NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Godaddy password email scam "Godadidy"

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2009, 02:53 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Takwa's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
Takwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really nice
 



Caution Godaddy password email scam "Godadidy"


If you received an email from accountupdate@godaddy.com regarding a "Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)"

Please check the site the link direct you to, this one I received direct me to Godadidy.

I have the full copy of the email on my blog for anyone interested to see what the email looks like (the email and the website is exactly the same as Godaddy)

http://www.domaingeo.com/2009/04/war...cam-email.html

You have been warned!
Takwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:29 AM THREAD STARTER               #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Takwa's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
Takwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really nice
 



got a confirm from Godaddy's abuse team twice saying it's genuine????
Takwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 196
dWhite is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by Takwa
got a confirm from Godaddy's abuse team twice saying it's genuine????
It is genuine. ICANN periodically notifies registrars to send out emails to all domain name holders to login to the registrar to verify their information is correct and to make changes as needed.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/576188-godaddy-password-email-scam-godadidy.html

This is to ensure the safety of the domain name holders, as ICANN can strip you of the domain name if you provide false information on it.
dWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 05:03 PM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Takwa's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
Takwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really nice
 



You are not getting the point here the link is not to godaddy.com but to godadidy.com
Takwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Cyberian's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Emerald Triangle
Posts: 4,558
Cyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond reputeCyberian has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
January 2006Member of the Month
July 2006

Thanks for the heads up Takwa
__________________
Remember who your loyalties are divided between,
and choose for the right reasons who deserves them.
Cyberian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Len
dot TV'er
 
Len's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,757
Len has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond reputeLen has a reputation beyond repute
 



If you click on the godadidy link on in the email on your blog you will see for sure that this is a scam. There is no security certificate in the browser!!!

Now go to the genuine godaddy site and you will see that your browser will show green with a padlock and the class 2 certificate confirmation.

Thanks for the warning Takwa.
Len is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 06:11 AM THREAD STARTER               #7 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Takwa's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
Takwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really niceTakwa is just really nice
 



Originally Posted by Len
If you click on the godadidy link on in the email on your blog you will see for sure that this is a scam. There is no security certificate in the browser!!!
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=576188

Now go to the genuine godaddy site and you will see that your browser will show green with a padlock and the class 2 certificate confirmation.

Thanks for the warning Takwa.
You are welcome, is that Godadidy site still live? guess their abuse team didn't take me seriously.

Thanks for the advice on the security cert, I will keep a look out for that when I log on to godaddy.

Shame about their support and security team, hope nobody falls for this scam.
Takwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 664
.Andy is a jewel in the rough.Andy is a jewel in the rough.Andy is a jewel in the rough
 



There sites not live for me.
.Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger