NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Should I just ignore them?

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
6 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2009, 05:01 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SG
Posts: 247
Tokkong is a jewel in the roughTokkong is a jewel in the roughTokkong is a jewel in the rough
 



Should I just ignore them?


Hi guys,

I happen to own the domain "zzzzzzzzz".com since April 2008. Today I receive this email from some Registration and Dispute Organization company in Asia. I can't make out what he wants me to do..; Give up this domain, or stop my business? Or maybe he wants to buy the name?

Can you help me diffuse this email?

thanks...

===========================
Dear Sir / Madam.

We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies' domain name registration and Internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.

On Feb.11st.2009, we received a formal application from a company called "Keppel investment Ltd" applying to register following Domain Names:
"zzzzzzzzzz".asia
"zzzzzzzzzz".cc
"zzzzzzzzzz".cn
"zzzzzzzzzz".com.cn
"zzzzzzzzzz".com.hk
"zzzzzzzzzz".com.tw
"zzzzzzzzzz".hk
"zzzzzzzzzz".us
"zzzzzzzzzz".eu
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/558908-should-i-just-ignore-them.html

and Internet Trademark: "zzzzzzzzzz"

After our initial examination, we found that the Internet Trademark and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark.These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company,we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of Keppel investment Ltd yet, in order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.


ABCDE
Auditing Department
Tokkong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
holyroller's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,476
holyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant futureholyroller has a brilliant future
 



Autism
I believe this is a scam, If you respond they will send you a dispute resolution form and want money from you (perhaps to have the names registered with them)

My advice, ignore it.

Not sure if anyone else has come across this.
__________________
Rock Music Encyclopedia Authentic Blues Music
Skate and Surf wear shop Anime Art jokes at Whiff.info
Rock Band Ugly Kid Joe are Back :-)
holyroller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Whogister's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 737
Whogister is a splendid one to beholdWhogister is a splendid one to beholdWhogister is a splendid one to beholdWhogister is a splendid one to beholdWhogister is a splendid one to beholdWhogister is a splendid one to behold
 




I get those exact emails all the time for my business and ignore them.
No doubt it's a scam. I also think they are trying to scare you into registering the domains that the company is "applying" to register.
Whogister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Bodhi's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,136
Bodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud ofBodhi has much to be proud of
 


Third World Education Autism Special Olympics
Sure smells like a scam. One I have not seen yet, but still.
Bodhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Extension Agnostic
 
mwzd's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 7,918
mwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
July 2008
Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund Diabetes Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Adoption Special Olympics Special Olympics Cystic Fibrosis Cystic Fibrosis Save a Life Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet
This is scam, they warn you to register your domains in those crappy extensions or they'll reg them.

I'd ignore this totally.

Cheers!
mwzd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 08:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Your face is regfee!
 
yilduz's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,069
yilduz is a splendid one to beholdyilduz is a splendid one to beholdyilduz is a splendid one to beholdyilduz is a splendid one to beholdyilduz is a splendid one to beholdyilduz is a splendid one to beholdyilduz is a splendid one to behold
 



Animal Rescue
A scam by a registrar?
They're the only ones I can see that would profit from a scam like that, who else would do that?
__________________
Looking for fantasy hockey owners to begin the new season on ESPN. Deep league with lots of owners and a very high % of keepers (dynasty league). Looking for active owners because this league will continue year after year.
My homepage | I miss my dog - Athena
yilduz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 01:00 AM THREAD STARTER               #7 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SG
Posts: 247
Tokkong is a jewel in the roughTokkong is a jewel in the roughTokkong is a jewel in the rough
 



Thanks guys. I will ignore them. Did a quick check today and none of the extentions for my domain were registered.

Cheers

Thanks guys. I will ignore them. Did a quick check today and none of the extentions for my domain were registered.

Cheers
Tokkong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
John84's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 267
John84 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Makes you kind of curious exactly what they are after.
John84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 03:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Yup. It's cold.

 
verbster's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,785
verbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant future
 


Parkinson's Disease Parkinson's Disease Protect Our Planet Child Abuse Save a Life Animal Rescue Special Olympics Protect Our Planet Save a Life Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS) Animal Cruelty Wildlife Autism Save a Life
Quote:
Makes you kind of curious exactly what they are after.
They're after your money. The curious factor is how they'll try to get it.
__________________
When in doubt, do the unexpected.
verbster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger