NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Attention: Your PayPal account has been limited

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
6 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2009, 10:10 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
***** is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Caution Attention: Your PayPal account has been limited


From 9 - 12 January I have received fake mail about Paypal Account Limited.

Originally Posted by gmail warning
Warning: This message may not be from whom it claims to be. Beware of following any links in it or of providing the sender with any personal information. Learn more
Quote:
Information Regarding Your account:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/551658-attention-your-paypal-account-has-been.html
Dear PayPal Member:

Attention! Your PayPal account has been limited!

As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the PayPal system.We recently contacted you after noticing an issue on your account.We requested information from you for the following reason:

Our system detected unusual charges to a credit card linked to your PayPal account.

Reference Number: PP-259-187-991

This is the Last reminder to log in to PayPal as soon as possible. Once you log in, you will be provided with steps to restore your account access.

Once you log in, you will be provided with steps to restore your account access. We appreciate your understanding as we work to ensure account safety.

Click here to activate your account



We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account. We apologise for any inconvenience..

Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Department
Copyright © 1999-2008 PayPal. All rights reserved. PayPal Ltd. PayPal FSA Register Number: 226056.
PayPal Email ID PP059
Email sender is refer to:
from Paypal Security <Paypal@noreplay.com>
reply-to Paypal@noreplay.com
to **edited**@gmail.com
date Wed, Jan 7, 2009 at 11:43 PM
subject Attention: Your PayPal account has been limited
mailed-by vancouver.servershost.net

I have report to their hosting, and promise will be investigated.

Beware of this scam. Hope useful thank you.
***** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 07:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
DebacleX's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Newport, KY
Posts: 1,445
DebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud ofDebacleX has much to be proud of
 




Definitly fake - it is usually NOREPLY@domain.com for most companies (IN THIS CASE, NOREPLY@PAYPAL.COM) but that is noreplay - someone is just trying to scam you :S But thanksfor the heads up - if you don't watch out for these, then you can loose a whole lot of money.
DebacleX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Toeki's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 393
Toeki is a jewel in the roughToeki is a jewel in the roughToeki is a jewel in the rough
 




I've been getting similar emails like this for almost 2~3 years.
I make it a habit to type the url instead of clicking on links that come in the emails.
__________________
Toeki Enterprises Co. Toeki.com Hosting services.
Dots.ws | Toeki.Net Domain services (Accredited .WS Registrar)
We accept PayPal, MoneyBookers, Credit Card, Bank Transfers and Western Union Transfer Service.

Authorized AWBS reseller
Toeki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:22 PM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
***** is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by Jacob N
Definitly fake - it is usually NOREPLY@domain.com for most companies (IN THIS CASE, NOREPLY@PAYPAL.COM) but that is noreplay - someone is just trying to scam you :S But thanksfor the heads up - if you don't watch out for these, then you can loose a whole lot of money.
Email sender address even can be manipulated ( can make something like: noreply@paypal.com),
for example with php mailer
Code:
http://www.google.com/search?q=free+php+mailer&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a
or by an asp mailer
Code:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=UFR&q=cdonts+sample&btnG=Search
but the mail server always can be detected for authentication.
Originally Posted by Toeki
I've been getting similar emails like this for almost 2~3 years.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=551658
I make it a habit to type the url instead of clicking on links that come in the emails.
Well i'm curious, why after almost 2 year have paypal account, just recently i have that mail. I never exposed my paypal mail in any media (like donation button) or share to anybody (like personal sending) except some advertise programs, hosting provider and domain reseller.
***** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:29 PM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
***** is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by Jacob N
Definitly fake - it is usually NOREPLY@domain.com for most companies (IN THIS CASE, NOREPLY@PAYPAL.COM) but that is noreplay - someone is just trying to scam you :S But thanksfor the heads up - if you don't watch out for these, then you can loose a whole lot of money.
Email sender address even can be manipulated ( can make something like: noreply@paypal.com),
for example with php mailer or by an asp mailer but the mail server always can be detected for authentication.
Originally Posted by Toeki
I've been getting similar emails like this for almost 2~3 years.
I make it a habit to type the url instead of clicking on links that come in the emails.
Yes i'm too, i always see what url appears in status bar.

Well i'm curious, why after almost 2 year have paypal account, just recently i have that mail. I never exposed my paypal mail in any media (like donation button) or share to anybody (like personal sending) except some advertise programs, hosting provider and domain reseller.
***** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
I'll do it
 
-Nick-'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: India
Posts: 6,939
-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
September 2007
Adoption
1 per day here Almost everyday I get this emails from one or the other account.
-Nick- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 10:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Account Suspended
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
soccersam is an unknown quantity at this point
 



i hate these mail, I am pretty sure these are scams.../fake...

I got one i think a week ago....the copyright was like 1999-2000 or it's just my eyes...

and it had some messed up email from the UK from sent by... I just ignored... and yes, seems scammed..
soccersam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 06:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
Emily Yee's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25
Emily Yee is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I use different secret email account for my PayPal and never get this kind of email. I was once got limited and restored the account but they never send email regarding the limitation, only get to know about it once I accessed my account.

Emails are fake. Especially when it comes to online banking. Bank will never send email to us. In my country of course.
Emily Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 108
riks.rocks is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I also got similiar email..u guys talking about.
riks.rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Account Suspended
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 76
somebody_rb is an unknown quantity at this point
 



payapl phishing is the most common method and many fall for it so u need to b careful
somebody_rb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger