NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Google Hosting - Its a scam - google-promotions.com

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
6 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2009, 12:16 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
stub's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,316
stub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatnessstub Has achieved greatness
 



Google Hosting - Is this a scam?


Originally Posted by Google Team
Hello,
Dear Gmail customer
After our free email services we offer you to sing up for our free hosting services.
This service currently is in beta test.
And we choose you to test this services and report us any bug you may find.We give you unlimited webspace on your own domain name you must only change your dns services to ns1.google.com and ns2.google.com and enter your domain name in our special control panel.
Our servers are linux based and we support PHP, SSL (Secure Shell),FTP,Stats,CGI,Perl,Unlimited email address and finaly 500 MySQL Database.

Notice :
Dont sell this invitation code in auction website that may cause we disable your account in the future.

Your invitation code :
http://google-promotions.com/Acvw2p9...VSP1Njjbp4zWS/

Need help ? Hosting-Support@google.com
Google Webhosting Team
After I tried to log in, I never got any hosting options. I tried emailing them but email Hosting-Support@google.com didn't resolve. If it's a scam, then what are the consequences of logging in with this code?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/550447-google-hosting-its-scam-google-promotions.html

rgds
stu
stub is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
goof free!
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,364
mis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
November 2007
Save a Life VA Tech Memorial Breast Cancer Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet
The way it's written - with both grammar and spelling
mistakes, one has to wonder if it's legit...

As for the code, when you clicked the link
did it log you into your google account automatically?
or did you have to enter your password?

Either way, I'd change it
mis_chiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
claire333 will become famous soon enoughclaire333 will become famous soon enough
 



I think it's a scam, because if you click on that link in FireFox, it gives you a web forgery warning meaning the site is most likely not legit.
claire333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 12:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,492
newsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud ofnewsiness has much to be proud of
 


AIDS/HIV Save a Life
It has a lot of grammatical/typo errors. I think it is not from Google.
__________________
||||newsiness.com||||'""|""\__,_
| _[lol]___[lol]____ l ||__|__|)
|(@)(@)"""""""**|(@)(@)**|(@) 100% Free Online Flash games
newsiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
devabby is an unknown quantity at this point
 



fake and scam.

my firefox appear this message when i try to enter
Reported Web Forgery!

"This web site at google-promotions.com has been reported as a web forgery and has been blocked based on your security preferences.


Web forgeries are designed to trick you into revealing personal or financial information by imitating sources you may trust.

Entering any information on this web page may result in identity theft or other fraud."
devabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Extension Agnostic
 
mwzd's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 7,918
mwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatnessmwzd Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
July 2008
Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund Diabetes Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Adoption Special Olympics Special Olympics Cystic Fibrosis Cystic Fibrosis Save a Life Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009 Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet
Stu, change your google password.

Also make sure there are no 'filters' or 'pop forwards' setup in your account.

Smells like a scam.
mwzd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Electrifying Guy
 
Dave Zan's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,827
Dave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond reputeDave Zan has a reputation beyond repute
 




Domain's registered today:

Quote:
Domain Name:google-promotions.com
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=550447
Record created:2009/1/12
Record expired:2010/1/12


Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.dns-diy.net ns2.dns-diy.net

Administrat:
name-- DNS MANAGER
org-- ABSOLUTEE CORP. LTD.
country-- CN
province-- Hongkong
city-- Hongkong
address-- FLAT/RM B 8/F CHONG MING BUILDING 72 CHEUNG SHA WAN RD KL
postalcode-- 999077
telephone-- +00.85223192933
fax-- +00.85223195168
E-mail-- go3584545794501absolutee.com
Technical Contact:
name-- DNS MANAGER
org-- ABSOLUTEE CORP. LTD.
country-- CN
province-- Hongkong
city-- Hongkong
address-- FLAT/RM B 8/F CHONG MING BUILDING 72 CHEUNG SHA WAN RD KL
postalcode-- 999077
telephone-- +00.85223192933
fax-- +00.85223195168
E-mail-- go3584545667402absolutee.com
Billing Contact:
name-- DNS MANAGER
org-- ABSOLUTEE CORP. LTD.
country-- CN
province-- Hongkong
city-- Hongkong
address-- FLAT/RM B 8/F CHONG MING BUILDING 72 CHEUNG SHA WAN RD KL
postalcode-- 999077
telephone-- +00.85223192933
fax-- +00.85223195168
E-mail-- go3584545986803absolutee.com
Registrant Contact:
name-- DNS MANAGER
org-- ABSOLUTEE CORP. LTD.
country-- CN
province-- Hongkong
city-- Hongkong
address-- FLAT/RM B 8/F CHONG MING BUILDING 72 CHEUNG SHA WAN RD KL
postalcode-- 999077
telephone-- +00.85223192933
fax-- +00.85223195168
E-mail-- go3584545986804absolutee.com

Domain Name: GOOGLE-PROMOTIONS.COM
Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC.
Whois Server: whois.onlinenic.com
Referral URL: http://www.OnlineNIC.com
Name Server: NS1.DNS-DIY.NET
Name Server: NS2.DNS-DIY.NET
Status: ok
Updated Date: 12-jan-2009
Creation Date: 12-jan-2009
Expiration Date: 12-jan-2010
__________________
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Follow My Tweets | Check My Blog
Dave Zan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
dmi
Senior Member
 
dmi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N43°54′, E017°40′
Posts: 1,000
dmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant future
 


Save a Life Protect Our Planet
Just change your password, as suggested above.

The email is full of grammar mistakes... You should've realized that it's a scam.
dmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger