NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Domain Supply System - Caution!

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2008, 11:06 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,513
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



Domain Supply System - Caution!


There is a company called Domain Supply System that is contacting domain owners.

Registration Service Provided By: Symphisis Company
Registrant Contact:
Dan Johnson ()
185 Torresdale Ave.
NORTH YORK, M2R 3E5 CA
domainsupplysystem.com

They are offering domains like the .com version of a domain you already own. For mine, they did not own the domain as it was unregistered. However, when I used the link in their email to check the price, the domain was then registered by their system!

This kind of business (I don't consider it a scam, but it's close) is common, but this is the first one I have seen that locks up the domain if you show any interest in it. Pretty clever, huh...? Up until now I have only seen ones where they don't own the domain and hope you will not check, or ones that are "tasting" the domain and hope they can sell it before they have to ask for a refund from the registrar.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/546412-domain-supply-system-caution.html

Anyway, if you have any interest in the domain in emails like this: DON'T CLICK on the links and check it out first. :-)
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Jake's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas, Ya'll
Posts: 1,719
Jake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud ofJake has much to be proud of
 



I'm wondering if maybe you can get back at them a little..

If the link in the email was like www.domain.com/query?=yourdomain.com and it registered yourdomain.com, you could visit that link with a bunch of crappy domains on the end, so their system registers them.

It's not the right thing to do by any means, but if your feeling kind of angry at them.....
Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: May 2008
Location: www.iheaders.com
Posts: 298
Digital_Designer is a name known to allDigital_Designer is a name known to allDigital_Designer is a name known to allDigital_Designer is a name known to allDigital_Designer is a name known to allDigital_Designer is a name known to all
 



Thanks for the info.
Digital_Designer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 06:28 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,513
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



Jake: That thought crossed my mind, but they use a number in the link and not the domain name. I might do some testing and see if the number system is esequential or random. I've posted a copy of their email in my blog.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=546412

Update: The numbers they use are sequential. I just checked about 40 domains to see what the list looked like. It appears to be a deleted domain list, so most of the names were not very good. It wouldn't be hard to "check" a large number of domains to "see what they are", but that would lock them up for someone that really wanted to buy one, so I don't think that is a good thing to do.

A better option is to report them for spam. This should be very effective and is they only real problem I have with what they are doing. Heck, I'd love to be able to sell most of my domains for even $50 each. If they can provide a good service and make some nice money, well how is that different from other companies that sell things? Just be cause you know for sure the obscene profits they are making...? Yeah, it bugs me to, but other people's greed is their business as long as it's not a scam where someone doesn't get what they expect.

Anyway, if you get one of these emails and want to report them as a spammer, use the WHOIS somewhere and get their IP for their web site. Then send the email with headers to the abuse address for that IP. DomainTools.com is a good place to lookup the information.

And if you are really ticked off, send a copy to the abuse address of the domain registrar as well. Some are jerks, but some like Domainsite.com may suspend the domain and you KNOW that's gonna hurt. Losing hosting bugs spammers, but they can just move to another host. Losing a domain really shuts them down and also costs them a few bucks and IMO ALL registrars should suspend domains of confirmed spammers.
Last edited by nielsencl; 12-30-2008 at 06:56 AM. Reason: Update
nielsencl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
bizcorp's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 419
bizcorp has a spectacular aura aboutbizcorp has a spectacular aura about
 



thanks for sharing. Definitely got to be on guard when you get contacted from places like this.
bizcorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
LilBlackDress's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 125
LilBlackDress is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Very interesting. Thank you for sharing this. The things people will do...
LilBlackDress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
co2
NamePros Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 150
co2 is on a distinguished road
 



Had the same thing like it a wile back, but don't think it was the same company.
The domain was dropped several days later. Done me a favour I got the dot com for reg fee. So keep an eye on it, but be careful where checking for it, and don't check till some time has passed. It will probably get dropped. CO2
co2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger