| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 635
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Scammed - not a NPér but would love help tracking this guy Hi fellow NPérs, THIS IS NOT ABOUT ANY NP MEMBERS BUT AN OFFSITE ISSUE!! I am looking for some help in tracking down an asshole thats just ruined christmas for my kids! In total he took about 900EURO for an Africain Grey Parrot, my kids have always wanted one, so i go to this site: http://www.oodle.co.uk/view/African-...1119236883/uk/ and find this ad, my wife did everything, and well, was a little niave, anyway, he did everything, sent pics, very nice emails, very proffesonally wrote etc.. she did the deal with him, he wanted paying by wire transfer since were in different countries she agree'd, sent the cash (paid for by VISA, not sure they can do anything with a transfer??) and the obvious happened, no more emails / communication etc... my kids are gutted, and that pisses me off, so i am asking the impossible i know, all i have is an email address, rob_ptc@yahoo.com and he calls himself Robert P James, were would / could i begin to track this guy down, money isnt an issue, i REALLY want this guy taken to court / police action, ive been scammed 4 times now and this one isnt getting away! what do you guys think, is there anyway i can start to trace him? ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/544741-scammed-not-np-r-but-would.html Thanks in advance! now i have 2 days to FIND another one AND lesson learned, DRIVE to collect it on a side note, i notified the website about this guy and the AD is still up, i used my mums email to contact him as a new customer, and again, he started the scam! i am preperred to waste $$$$ taking this guy! if i can find him. |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 369
![]() ![]() ![]() | That's a terrible story! I think I would start by calling oodle, yahoo, and your credit card company to see what they have to say about it. Also, since the ad is still up and he started the scam again it's possible that you can bait him to giving up information that will help you. You can start a dialogue with him under the pretenses that you are looking to make the purchase. Ask for a phone number. Ask him to send you a scan of his ID so you know who you're dealing with. Chances are that a scammer like this is stupid enough to willingly give up that kind of information, but that's a route I would only take if contacting authorities lead to a dead end. |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| goof free! Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Canada
Posts: 9,364
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sorry to hear what happened, some people have no heart! The money was sent by wire? Wouldn't there have to be ID shown and a signature for him to pick it up? - try the Wire service to see if they can give you a copy of it. Tell them you just want to be sure it was picked up. If they fax it to you, it might have info he didn't plan on you getting. |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 635
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | the wire was done using someone called ukash, all she did was pay money and get a pin number we gave it to him and bingo he had the cash, as a incentive, i'll offer $50 to any NPér who finds me a number |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 635
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | yeah and about time, 46 hours before they removed his ads!!! absolutly shocking! now its even harder to trace this guy but the reward above stands, $50 to anyone who can provide me with real infomation on who this guy could be ![]() i know its hard, and i thank anyone in advance for trying! |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| www.bpdir.com Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,055
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I'm sorry you had to experience this evertonian7uk. ![]() Since he's a scammer I'm pretty sure you won't get his real phone number from him...but isn't UKash an online payment processor? Surely they've got the person's real info, esp. if he's able to withdraw the money...? Have you contacted them yet? |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #9 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 635
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Thanks guys, so far ive contacted UKASH, my CC company and the website he was on to see if they can come up with anything, i'll keep you all posted, i am highly motivated right now into tracking this guy, as mentioned above, we've started to talk to him via another email, we'll try to trick him into giving us some kind of proof of ID etc.... thanks again to those that PM'd me, your help and support its greatly apprecaited! |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) | ||||
| www.bpdir.com Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,055
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,984
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Checking the headers will be a good start. Playing stupid with him and seeing what info you can get is probably your best chance. If you can find a domain name owned by him, it may prove easier to track him down (by whois, provided that's not all fake as well). I would be very careful about involving the authorities or mentioning much about Robert P James -- we already know that whoever is behind this fraud is a scammer and identity theft might be on his rap sheet as well. |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: 1°88′N, 7°95′E
Posts: 1,387
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | yup, do a charge back. else visit counter scam forum for tricks. maybe u can pretend to be a rich peep and ask him out for major deals.
__________________ What's a good blog ? Find out here [+++] [http://treoo.com]- S'pore Local Gadget Store® - Now Online For Sales : | Ads Development Site [neatad.com] -HOT | |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #16 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 635
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | sorry for the lack of updates, the last 2 days have been spent finding a replacement, which i did TODAY!!! brilliant! now i will re-focus my attentions, i already contacted my CC and my bank, also had an email from the website saying they wouldnt give me any infomation on the guy, so i instructed my lawyer to ask for it, i will let you know, surely they will have some details right? he basically said i am wasting my time, but he can do something, he hopes lol, Merry Christmas guys, and thanks for the help / advise, i will keep you all up to speed |
| | |
| | #17 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2008 Location: Japan
Posts: 1,879
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I came here a bit late, and glad you found a parrot! You really need to find a copy of his ad, or anything he posted. I wonder if Google cache can help here. Then copy and paste parts of his ad into Google. He almost certainly placed his ads elsewhere, and you may be able to find one and reconnect with him (using another email than your own, of course). Once you reestablish contact, you can act like a naive potential customer and try to coax some information that will help you to identify him. Good luck! |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #19 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 635
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | i checked the headers (i think) this is what i got, does this help me?
| ||||
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2004 Location: In a box
Posts: 1,184
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Cameroon Douala Data Communication And Internationaltelecommunication Of Cameroon http://whois.domaintools.com/195.24.209.14 |
| | |
| | #22 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Unblock.in
Posts: 4,782
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | IP Address Country Region City Latitude/ Longitude ZIP Code Time Zone 195.24.209.14 CAMEROON LITTORAL DOUALA 4.05 9.7 - +01:00 Net Speed ISP Domain - DATA COMMUNICATION AND INTERNATIONALTELECOMMUNICATION OF CAMEROON BENOUE.CAMNET.CM http://www.ip2location.com/195.24.209.14
__________________ chandan.in- Domain Names-foods - iblogs- Steroids for Sale - 074.in for 15$ Recipes- DIR-stumble 4 Sales 54 DBS-Recipes DB-Drinks DB-Jokes- book marks-Chandan |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) | ||||
| www.bpdir.com Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,055
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I just typed "african parrot scam" on Google and there were tons of results. On one site: Source: http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=11889
![]() ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=544741 Have you tried doing a chargeback? | ||||
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |