NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page GoDaddy PHISHING email - BEWARE

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
6 members in live chat ~  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2008, 07:43 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Chappy's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,104
Chappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to beholdChappy is a splendid one to behold
 


Wildlife Animal Rescue

GoDaddy PHISHING email - BEWARE


I received two emails today claiming to be from GoDaddy. It looks just like a GoDaddy email. The link included in this passage was to xxxxxxxx.tebbs.cl and not GoDaddy.

=======================
Dear Customer,

This notification is generated automatically as a service to you.
Because of unusual number of invalid login attempts on you account, we had to believe that, their might be some security problem on you account. So we have decided to put an extra verification process to ensure your identity and your account security.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/535090-godaddy-phishing-email-beware.html
Please click on sign in to domain servers to continue to the verification process and ensure your account security. It is all about your security. Thank you. and visit the customer service section.

please contact us within 1 days.

If you need to address this matter, or in any way need further assistance or technical support, call us any time at (480) 505-8877 or email us at support@godaddy.com. We appreciate your business!
__________________
Domainer Since 1975
Chappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Forum Advisory Team
 
Jennifer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: East Bay
Posts: 6,892
Jennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatnessJennifer Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
September 2008
Wildlife Ethan Allen Fund Parkinson's Disease Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet Breast Cancer Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet
Hi Matt -

I got this one today too...

Lately, I just assume every single email I get is a scam.

It's quite sad really.

Regards,
Jennifer
__________________
JenniferChiera.com
Jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
eFingerz's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hell / Gulf Coast / South Louzyanna - - Bayou.me
Posts: 574
eFingerz is just really niceeFingerz is just really niceeFingerz is just really niceeFingerz is just really niceeFingerz is just really nice
 



Protect Our Planet
i assume thats why the just recently fixed their log in fields since the makeover! but
wow this looks like they want you to call to get your info
did they have any links in the email??
i have yet to get any godaddy phishing emails knock knock oh dam thats not wood knock
but if i did i rarely click on links in email unless its a email i was expecting
thanks for the headz up!
__________________
MakeAoffer»YumPage.com,Hemp.im,SEOed.US, Ru01.com,NicheSites.US & lots more«|
«» Host XL «»Custom T-shirts «»
«»Turnkey PHP Web Scripts:«»
eFingerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
uber's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: . on the redeye to anhedonia
Posts: 624
uber is a glorious beacon of lightuber is a glorious beacon of lightuber is a glorious beacon of lightuber is a glorious beacon of lightuber is a glorious beacon of light
 


Animal Cruelty
Originally Posted by Jennifer
Hi Matt -
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=535090

I got this one today too...

Lately, I just assume every single email I get is a scam.

It's quite sad really.

Regards,
Jennifer

Godaddy isn't a scam?
__________________
NTNN.COM | GEKQ.COM | WOCQ.COM | UUWB.COM | QFAU.COM

I Love The Whole World :blink:
uber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 05:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
praveen1 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



well I got this mail once too but its not a scam they want to check whether its really us who tried to login and logout of the account, its just a security measure.
praveen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 05:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hi :)
 
Mark's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 9,537
Mark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatness
 

Member of the Month
August 2004
Ethan Allen Fund
Originally Posted by praveen1
well I got this mail once too but its not a scam they want to check whether its really us who tried to login and logout of the account, its just a security measure.

Did you even read the post above ?
__________________
When the man at the door yelled "Alcohol , Tobacco , and Firearms" .... I just assumed it was a delivery !
Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,063
homebuyer is a splendid one to beholdhomebuyer is a splendid one to beholdhomebuyer is a splendid one to beholdhomebuyer is a splendid one to beholdhomebuyer is a splendid one to beholdhomebuyer is a splendid one to beholdhomebuyer is a splendid one to behold
 



Grammatical Errors = Red Flags


There are just too many grammatical errors in their email for it to be believable. Errors aside, just don't ever click on any links in any email about one of your password-protected accounts.
homebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Account Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
sumo123 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Thanks for warning, we would take care
sumo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger