| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 77
![]() ![]() | SCAM from eliteinvestment.net So i have received an offer from clotier@eliteinvestment.net for one of my domains. I have sent my price and i have received this email 1200. Ok. Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name? Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary. Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust. To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers: http://webtalk.007sites.com/Archive/461239.htm If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount. After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations. What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else? Hope we can come to an agreement fast. Looking forward to your reply. Here is my response Hello If you want my domain you can make yourself the appraisal. I will low my domain price from 1200 to 1000$ (so with 200$ you can make the appraisal in any company you want plus drink a coffe from me) ![]() ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/532200-scam-from-eliteinvestment-net.html Regards Ehehehee |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 77
![]() ![]() | Thnx www.LLLL.com ![]() Bmugford they don't have time tu update the scam website because they are busy (cmon sending and replay 10 000 emails per hour is not an easy job) |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NameBio.com Founder Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 7,855
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This is a very common and well documented Scam. Good eyes for spotting it.
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 62
![]() | Yeagh... I also got same e-mail alike this one (from Clotier). I said to him... " Sorry, I think I just dreaming and seen an angel in my slept. In my dreaming, Clotier was an angel, but in my real world, he is an evil". |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 207
![]() | i too got every excited when I received such email, offering to pay USD3,000 for a .net name I reg few days ago. But, after some thinking, it just does not make sense? They insist that I conduct a appraisal for my name, promising to pay more if the appraisal valued my name higher. They even have the chick to ask for 10% discount from the appraised price if it is higher then their initial offer. I am a very easy going person and since they are so interested in my name, I offer to sell the name for USD10 (my cost is USD7), which after that, they stop writing to me. So, i think the scam is about getting people to sign up to them for name appraisal. |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NameDato.com Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: Jackson's Whole
Posts: 3,296
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I've got email from them too. Their offer looked too unbelievable, so I googled them and got here back to NamePros ![]() I can't understand what they want to scam me? I offered them a considerable discount. And what will they do to scam me?
__________________ |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 276
![]() ![]() | The website is hosted on http://www.007sites.com/ and can be spotted so easily, no real company with thousands of dollars would have a free hosted site like that (after all, they do have money dont they?). Good thing you avoided this...
__________________ Online Security & Web Design |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) | ||||
| Account Closed Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Punjab
Posts: 3,790
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,714
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) | ||||
| Account Closed Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Punjab
Posts: 3,790
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=532200 | ||||
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: England
Posts: 2,670
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Eliteinvestment.net is registered by DOMAINSBYPROXY INC of Arizona. Their website Domainsbyproxy.com has a complaints form on it. This guy has a contact address in a tiny village in the U.K. which is probably false. He has scraped an article from a goverment website in Connecticut as his site content. This latest domain was started in Aug 08 on domainsbyproxy so there will be plenty more from him in the near future. Rumour has it that he has been a member of NPros and has been banned a few times, if this is true then someone here knows who he is. |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 764
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got this to days ago sendt to my private email address. Wonder how they got my mail address since there is whois protection one the name they asked for. Hello, Your domain name has been found online. Please let us know your price. We are in real estate business. Domain name industry is a new direction for us. Sometimes we buy, sometimes we resell for making a profit. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Gene Vaksman Vice President Elite Network
__________________ http://www.langtransport.com |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Texas, United States
Posts: 1,279
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ | ||||
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) |
| Senior Member ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,797
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I just got his email, he seems to be targetting users from ebay also!
__________________ ★ 500, 1k, 3k, 5k, 10k SEO Backlinks + FULL REPORT ★ |
| | |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,785
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | too bad they can't be closed down, even if you report them http://www.lookstoogoodtobetrue.com/complaint.aspx |
| | |
| | #22 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Texas, United States
Posts: 1,279
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got a similar scam from eliteinvestment!! I replied "the price is 30 million dollar and you cannot afford it!" I am pretty much sure that the scammer is a namepros member. I have a separate email for namepros and I haven't advertise my email anywhere(not in whois too). I think it is very easy for Namepros team to catch this scammer because he have used "Send an message to jdenwar" link from my profile to send me a message. Hope to hear from NP staff about this scammer! Cheers! -James
__________________ |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: AL.LV
Posts: 1,421
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Just received eMail from norcross@eliteinvestment.net: Code: Hello, Your domain name has been found online. Please let us know your price. We are in real estate business. Domain name industry is a new direction for us. Sometimes we buy, sometimes we resell for making a profit. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, William Norcross Vice President Elite Network ======================================================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ======================================================== ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=532200 My price is $1,000,000 (1,000,000 USD). |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #24 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 77
![]() ![]() | Any response from them? ![]()
| ||||
| | |
| | #25 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
![]() | Got this email yesterday from 'Murphy' at eliteinvestment.net "I'm interested in your domain in the subject line. Investing in domains is a profitable business. We are in real estate business. Sometimes we buy, sometimes we resell for making a profit. Looking forward to do business with you." Smelled of a scam! |
| | |