| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||||||
| goof free! Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Canada
Posts: 9,364
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | CAUTION: .ca owners! I just came across this on the CIRA site, although rare for .ca's, it does happen! Network Solutions Customer - Godaddy Address - Enom Link all in one email! October 30, 2008 Phishing Attack Warning for Domain Name Holders The Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA) received reports of phishing scam e-mails designed to collect information relating to domain name registrations. The e-mails were made to appear to be coming from various domain name Registrars. This is a targeted phishing attack. CIRA is advising domain name holders to not respond to these e-mails. If you have questions regarding your domain name please contact your Registrar directly. You can see copies of e-mails below:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=529277 What is Phishing? Phishing is a practice of luring unsuspecting Internet users to a fake web site by using an authentic looking e-mail in an attempt to steal passwords, account information or other sensitive data. The owner's info for com42.asia networksolutions.com.com42.asia (note the sub domain in front) Registrant Name:Shestakov Yuriy Registrant Organization:Shestakov Yuriy Registrant Address:Lenina 21 16 Registrant Address2: Registrant Address3: Registrant City:Mirniy Registrant State/Province:MSK Registrant Country/Economy:RU Registrant Postal Code:102422 Registrant Phone:+7.9218839910 Registrant Phone Ext.: Registrant FAX:+7.9218839910 Registrant FAX Ext.: Registrant E-mail:alexeyvas@safe-mail.net Always contact the registrar directly Do Not Click The Links
Last edited by Peter; 11-01-2008 at 06:25 AM.
| ||||||||
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #3 (permalink) | ||||
| goof free! Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Canada
Posts: 9,364
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
CIRA was the only place I saw this at though and 3 of the emails I got, were for my .ca's! | ||||
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: Scotland
Posts: 5,074
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Just to let you know mis_chiff i have removed the phishing links just in case people do click on them These same people have been doing godaddy phishing scams as well as other eNom scams so be weary of any emails supposedly from your registrar.
__________________ Manage your portfolio using my new Domain Portfolio Management script. Securing Your Domain Name From Theft |
| | |