Welcome to the largest and most talked about domain name forum in the World!

We are NamePros, the award-winning free community for domain name owners, buyers and website developers. Once registered, you can:
  • Post your domains for sale or for free appraisals.
  • Private message and conduct business with other domain owners.
  • View member-only forums such as 'Legal Issues' and 'Expired Domains' (NOT visible to search engines)
  • Free access our archives of posts
Join now for free


Go Back   NamePros.com > Discussion > Community > Warnings & Alerts
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.



Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2008, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 307
972.91 NP$ (Donate)

FGclips is a glorious beacon of lightFGclips is a glorious beacon of lightFGclips is a glorious beacon of lightFGclips is a glorious beacon of lightFGclips is a glorious beacon of light



Domain Appraisal Scam... Careful if you have a domain listed at Sedo

I recently received the following e-mail:
Quote:
Greetings!

****.com has been found via online auctions.

Please let us know the your price and we will consider it.

Our company is investing in High Tech and IT projects. Now the domain market is very attractive for us, since every business in the Internet requires a domain.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Anthony Stecker
Vice President
N G (The Next Generation) Services
================================================== ==========================
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.
================================================== ========
I e-mailed him back, but I was immediately suspicious in part because the price of my domain was listed on Sedo. I googled him and found this:
http://www.scorpiono.com/the-daily-w...ers-good-deals

I got the same follow-up e-mail and it appears that he wants you to get the domain appraised at a site he's involved with. Just a heads up!

Last edited by FGclips; 07-01-2008 at 09:51 PM.
FGclips is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Legend
 
weblord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,836
21,700.43 NP$ (Donate)

weblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatness
Send a message via ICQ to weblord Send a message via AIM to weblord Send a message via MSN to weblord Send a message via Yahoo to weblord


Autism Protect Our Planet
yes it's the appraisal scam indeed.
weblord is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
tucal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 115
35.70 NP$ (Donate)

tucal is an unknown quantity at this point



He has sent me the same e-mails. There is a thread here on namepros. He has tried that scam many times.
tucal is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Easydoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: golfered.com
Posts: 1,124
105.90 NP$ (Donate)

Easydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really nice
Send a message via Yahoo to Easydoms


Animal Cruelty Save a Life Wildlife Autism
Thanks for the heads up on this, the name rings a bell with me from past scams.
Easydoms is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Contact Us - NamePros.com - Privacy Statement - Top
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2