NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Phishing E-mail from ICANN Resolve

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2008, 10:41 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
wikes82's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: K-R.NET
Posts: 902
wikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud ofwikes82 has much to be proud of
 


Save a Life Cancer

Phishing E-mail from ICANN Resolve


I received this e-mail, definitely phishing attempt...
Appear to be sent through a softlayer box, IP address: 208.43.70.241
Quote:
Dear Domain Account Holder,

You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you
currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all
domains from their registry database.

The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier
access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are
expected to submit their domain information manually at
http://www.icannresolve.com/email/li...75&N=5&L=1&F=T with the
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/485264-phishing-e-mail-from-icann-resolve.html
required information for ICANN to apply the required updates.

The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve
basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to
avoid service and domain interruption.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

ICANNResolve
ICANN.org Resolutions Department

Domain name : ICANNRESOLVE.COM registered with NameCheap
The guy also appear to own omegagalaxy.com (also registered with NC)
I forwarded the e-mail with full headers to abuse@namecheap.com
Last edited by wikes82; 06-23-2008 at 10:47 PM.
wikes82 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
vatsan's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,003
vatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud ofvatsan has much to be proud of
 



I got the exact same email with a different URL

http://www.icannresolve.com/email/li...41&N=5&L=1&F=T
vatsan is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 01:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Legend
 
weblord's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,785
weblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatness
 


Autism Protect Our Planet
http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...or-a-scam.html
__________________
Nabaza.com - Amaia
weblord is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger