| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
![]() | email scam from vice.president@phreaker.net Another scam - ask you for a price, then want you to value it at a website: Hello, After checking domains for sale sites I've found your domain for sale. So what is your price? Buying and selling domains is not our only business. But domain aftermarket is hot now, so we are always interested in domain names. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Anthony Peterson Vice President PRF Software ================================================== ========================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/454716-email-scam-vice-president-phreaker-net.html information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ================================================== ======== |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Web Developer Join Date: Apr 2007 Location: EU
Posts: 278
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It's actually a double scam. If you reply they will point you to some fake forum where fake people talk about the worth of a domain name. This forum will then recommend a service to find out the real value of your domain but the funny part is: The reason they send such emails is they want to make money off you doing the appraisal while the "deal" never takes place cause the possible buyer is actually someone from the appraisal service and just wants to make a few bucks. It's funny they used such an email address tho cause it just tells you enough without even looking at the email.
__________________ Expired Domain Names | PHP Scripts & Flash Applications | Social Networking Portal |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,963
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The scammers are pathetic... wasting their time and ours for $$ a pop
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
![]() | yeah - this was the 'forum' they pointed me to: http://domaintalk.007sites.com/Archive/291358.htm I got the email a few days after parking the domain on sedo incidently |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: London
Posts: 1
![]() | I had a similar scam email from phreaker.net aka 'Harold Peterson' asking me price of a domain. Thank goodness I was directed to this forum else I may given into...I think SEDO or similar is the best way to buy/sell domains, don't you? |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 353
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Just received a similar email too
__________________ | ||||
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Account Suspended Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
![]() | I just got one too, a few minutes ago from prsllc@phreaker.net. I think all of these emails were coming from one boring teenager. And I strongly believe that he can make more money if he used gmail account. LOL! |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: India
Posts: 543
![]() | I got a similar email for zzc.in from Sebastian Sterling Vice President PRS LLC I replied them saying since you are already well aware of the potential of the market, you may offer a fair price. No reply.
__________________ mails = pmail.in wmail.co.in jmail.co.in dmail.co.in hmail.co.in lmail.co.in zmail.co.in amail.info omail.info wmail.info |
| | |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
![]() | Hahaha Mine was from this looser: Hello, My name is Tom Myers and I'm interested in the domain mentioned in the subject line. I'm a cybersquatter but never use domains in bad faith etc. Working according the law is my policy. Some of my clients are interested in your domain. Please let me know your ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=454716 price. If you have other good names just send me the list with prices. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Tom Myers Independent Cybersquatter ..... My advice to them... I know! Slip under a truck and die! |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2008 Location: USA
Posts: 121
![]() ![]() |
I received the exact same e-mail few days ago. I think idea is for you to spend money on domain appraisal site that person, in this case Tom, wants you to use before concluding business. -Sel | ||||
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2008 Location: USA
Posts: 121
![]() ![]() | I was just lying down and I thought about something. How did this person get my e-mail address? NamePros has blocked my e-mail; so, there is no way that anyone could get my e-mail from here. I have the domain parked at NameDrive.com, but I doubt that they would share my e-mail with 3rd party. |
| | |