| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,630
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | en0mcentral PHISHING ATTEMPT I got a few emails todat directing me login to my enom acct and confirm my whois info. Trouble is the link takes one to en0mcentral (0 instead of o). BEWARE!
__________________ ...believe me when I say life and death are always on the line... |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: 10°51'3"N 78°41'9"E
Posts: 2,251
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ | ||||
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| >< ))) ‘> Join Date: Jun 2005 Location: US
Posts: 1,094
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Wow, they were actually stupid enough to register that domain at Enom itself. ![]() http://whois.domaintools.com/en0mcentral.com Registered with privacy...I guess to make it look more "official." Anyone know how to report this to Enom? I'm sure they'd suspend the domain immediately. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Gutless Wonderâ„¢ Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,552
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The site doesn't exist anymore, looks like someone took it down. ![]() Thanks for the heads up - using private whois was a really clever idea. Someone who is not frequent with enom would have fell for this one.... -Bill
__________________ ...lame... |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) | ||||
| Electrifying Guy ![]() Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,827
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
could until it would eventually get shut down? That was a good phish if people especially didn't notice the 0 part. But good to know it's down and out. | ||||
| |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: CA
Posts: 2,288
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | At it again? Just received this one. ************************************************** ******* Dear eNomCentral Customer, ICANN, the organization responsible for the stability of the Internet, requires that each domain name registrant be given the opportunity to correct any inaccurate contact data (WHOIS data) associated with a domain name registration. Please login to your account.If any of the information above is inaccurate, you should correct it. https://www.enomcentral.com/Login.asp? ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=446009 Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement, the provision of false WHOIS information can be grounds for cancellation of your domain name registration. Sincerely,eNomCentral Account Review Department ************************************************** ******* The link in the email redirects to enomcemtral.com/Login.asp.htm
__________________ PhpCityPortal Get 20%-off with "namepros"•CompleteArticles.com•UltimateFitness.pro :kickass: RobertJR.com•KaileeGetWells.com•LiveArticles.org•ComicComic.com |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 4,015
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got the same with linking to enomcemtral.com. I didn't catch it at first, but my anti-phishing software warned me before the page loaded. There I don't know if it's active or looks like the enom page or not since it won't let me load to even see. Since enom.com is now only for resellers and enomcentral is for retail accounts, they are probably trying to trick the end users who know less. It would be an easy miss thought, so be careful about links and typos.
__________________ AdoptableDomains.com ~~~~~Finding Good Homes for Good Names~~~~~ FuelPrices.mobi - Fish.us - ManhattanNewYork.net - Salesmen.info - SoundSystems.org Dickering.com - JobPlacement.biz - LotteryTickets.ws - Deleted.cc - Names.im - MP3.hn |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: CA
Posts: 2,288
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ PhpCityPortal Get 20%-off with "namepros"•CompleteArticles.com•UltimateFitness.pro :kickass: RobertJR.com•KaileeGetWells.com•LiveArticles.org•ComicComic.com | ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,136
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It is always a good idea to never use the links provided in e-mails of this nature. Instead, it is better to open a new tab or window and navigate to the site on your own. This phishing scams are just getting to sophisticated and harder to spot these days. Unfortunately, there is always going to be someone who falls for this type of thing. Just don't let it be you! |
| |