NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Luke Cheng - GA Web Technologies

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
5 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2008, 02:16 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
longroad's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 269
longroad is a jewel in the roughlongroad is a jewel in the roughlongroad is a jewel in the rough
 



Thumbs down Luke Cheng - GA Web Technologies


Seems to be a new scam going around.
Got this email this morning, did a web search and found a person posted on DP the other day with the exact same email.

Quote:
Hello,

We are interested in xxxxxxx.com

Your Internet name was for sale. Could you let me know your price for this domain. Our company is working on global network intrusin detection systems.

So Internet names is just a part of our investment strategy.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Luke Cheng
Vice President
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/427090-luke-cheng-ga-web-technologies.html
GA Web Technologies
Its from email address "lcheng@gawab.com"
Notice how they name their ficitious company GA Web and they have an email address from the free email provider "GA Wab" - ding ding

DP thread:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=683694
longroad is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
seoprodigy is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Help! Has anybody else been solicited by Luke Chenge


Has anybody else been solicited by this guy?
Last edited by seoprodigy; 02-03-2008 at 08:28 AM.
seoprodigy is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 01:44 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
longroad's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 269
longroad is a jewel in the roughlongroad is a jewel in the roughlongroad is a jewel in the rough
 



I just got another one for a different domain I own. This only started happening after I listed them at SEDO.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=427090
Quote:
Hello,


Your xxxxxxxxxxxx.com was for sale. Please let me know your price. Our company works on Internet communication software market.

So Internet names is just a part of our investment strategy.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Andrew Chen
Vice President
GW Technologies
longroad is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
seoprodigy is an unknown quantity at this point
 



He told me he was from Berne, Switzerland. What did he tell you? Things seemed a little phishy with his email address...but I wasn't sure.

I was extremely skeptical at first, but he has been responding to all my emails. I also thought he was just someone trying promote the domainsecondhand.com (make me pay for there services). But he told me he also accepted moniker domain appraisals.

If this guy is for real I would like to do business with him. What do you suggest would be the best way to avoid being ripped off? Should I use escrow.com?
seoprodigy is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 08:21 PM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
longroad's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 269
longroad is a jewel in the roughlongroad is a jewel in the roughlongroad is a jewel in the rough
 



I havent replied to the emails and dont plan to.
Avoid being ripped off by not responding to the emails.
longroad is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger