NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Domain Scam Alert

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2008, 11:07 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
exponent's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 603
exponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant futureexponent has a brilliant future
 


Alzheimer's Marrow Donor Program Save a Life Breast Cancer Baby Health

Caution Domain Scam Alert


I received the following today:

Quote:
From: JunX <junxlair@gmail.com>
To: deleted@deleted.deleted,
Date: Jan 12, 2008 11:08 PM
Subject: I want a favor from you.[ Sorry...My English is not good ]

Dear Biars Steven:

I need to apologize first ,my English is not good.This is my first time to write an English letter,I write this letter to ask you a favor.Sorry again for my poor English, I am a college student from China,I learn Botany in the Southwest University of China .Now,I am a junior student.I like computer stuff.I learned program language (such as C.C++.PHP.VB.) by myself.

Now I want to build a website.I think it can help the devolopment of chinese internet.I see there are thousands of website builded up everyday in our country.but they haven't a good place to recommend their websites to us.I want build such place for them,also for the netizens in our country.I want to this site to help the sharing of information in our country.These days,there are too many idea ocurr to me.I like internet,I like building website.but I have a litter money to do this.there is a problem,I choose a very fantastic domain name, when I wanna register the domain name ,I found it had been registered by you. Dear Sir.Can you transfer it to me by 100 dollars?I really need your help Sir.

the domain name is:xyz.cc

Your prompt attention to this letter would be highly appreciated. I am looking forward to hearing from you.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/417724-domain-scam-alert.html
Yours faithfully
Besides the fact that I would never sell the domain for anything even remotely close to $100, I did a bit of homework to prove a point. The individual has several email addresses as it is. It might help their cause to have a name, but they don't. I sent a response and notified my registrar of potential fraud. The response is below:

Quote:
THE DOMAIN IS NOT FOR SALE.
__________________
My 4-year old daughter needs a kidney transplant. Contact me if you're willing to join a potential donor pool.
exponent is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 11:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
chassmp3's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 35
chassmp3 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I find that hiding your privacy info helps, I've only been contacted once when I had domains parked at Sedo by someone who appeared to be a ligitimate candidate, who wanted to buy one of my domains, since my name was newly registered and had plans for it I turned down the option of selling very politely, so I never heard from the guy again. It sucks how much you have to look over your shoulder in everything you do here.
chassmp3 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
nicholas's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Beach
Posts: 584
nicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of lightnicholas is a glorious beacon of light
 



There are all sorts, and they come in very different colors. Last week someone sold me a one-word domain along with his ordinary one (why he wanted to sell the ordinary one to go with the first one is what caused the alarm bells). Surprisingly, they had the same email address.

And sure enough it was clear he simply changed his WHOIS data to reflect the same exact one on the dictionary domain one. After verifying by sending an email to the email address in the other domain's WHOIS and not getting a reply as expected, I played along a little just to see how far he'd go. Eventually after almost begging to get paid, and I mentioned using escrow he says he prefers direct Paypal. Eventually I tell him to quit scamming and he says his mailbox is just full.

What's interesting here actually isn't that there was a scammer, but the fact that scammer was sure his methods would work. Who knows, maybe it does to others sometimes, and that's the sad part.
__________________
Newsback.com -- Commentary and backstories of the news
-----------------------------------------------
Last edited by nicholas; 01-22-2008 at 01:53 PM.
nicholas is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger