NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page DomainRenewalOnline.com = scam

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2007, 07:35 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
aww
Senior Member
 
aww's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,187
aww is a jewel in the roughaww is a jewel in the roughaww is a jewel in the rough
 



Caution DomainRenewalOnline.com = scam


Remember there was a company a few years back that got sued out of existence for sending out letters to domain registrants pretending to be their registrar and getting them to renew through them for top dollar? When the poor suckers fell for it, they got slammed, with their domain moved to a new registrar (and of course paid too much).

Well it seems another illicit company has stepped up to fill the gap.

domainrenewalonline.com has been emailing my customers within 90 days of their domain expiry date, pretending to be their registrar and asking them for money to renew it. Their pages look vaguely like the generic enom interfaces for end users.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/411288-domainrenewalonline-com-scam.html

Very slimy stuff. Hope ICANN shuts them down soon.
There needs to be more publicity about this.
Last edited by aww; 12-27-2007 at 07:38 AM.
aww is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
MyNameIsDomain's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 169
MyNameIsDomain is on a distinguished road
 


Child Abuse
Its cybercrime, and it should be prosecuted to the full extent. People can lose tons of money that way. I would be so pissed if that happened to me.
MyNameIsDomain is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hi :)
 
Mark's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 9,567
Mark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatnessMark Has achieved greatness
 

Member of the Month
August 2004
Ethan Allen Fund
It still happens everyday from Snail Mail as well, I just threw away probably 15 of those Letters from Liberty Names or Liberty domains - Something like that.

I agree - Something needs to be done to these people , My cousin runs a small website/home business in crafts and fell for the Snail mailed version - She transferred her domain to them without realizing it wasn't the same Registrar she originated with.
__________________
When the man at the door yelled "Alcohol , Tobacco , and Firearms" .... I just assumed it was a delivery !
Mark is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 08:16 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
aww
Senior Member
 
aww's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,187
aww is a jewel in the roughaww is a jewel in the roughaww is a jewel in the rough
 



I wonder why ICANN doesn't end it immediately - they have the power. All they have to do is threaten to pull a registrar's license, or if the scam company is operating as a reseller, threaten the parent registrar. It's not a matter of allowing capitalism, the practice is weakening the entire domain name industry for legit operators.

Then again ICANN allows registrars like enom to place anonymous ads on expiring domains names so I guess ethical standards are pretty low at the registrar level too. Is it unrealistic to hope for them to intervene without a lawsuit?

I suspect DomainRenewalOnline.com is in Belgium for a reason, some kind of legal protection?
aww is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger