NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Strange e-mail renewal request-pseudo legit

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2007, 01:02 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Yup. It's cold.

 
verbster's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,733
verbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant futureverbster has a brilliant future
 


Parkinson's Disease Parkinson's Disease Protect Our Planet Child Abuse Save a Life Animal Rescue Special Olympics Protect Our Planet Save a Life Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS) Animal Cruelty Wildlife Autism Save a Life

Strange e-mail renewal request-pseudo legit


Got an e-mail from "Domain Renewal" saying my domain xxxxxx.info was expiring, and I needed to renew it. the name is registered with GoDaddy and expires in September. It's strange because the second half of their e-mail sort of lets you know it's a different company...to avoid legalities, I suppose. So they are legit, sort of....just an FYI....
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/343037-strange-e-mail-renewal-request-pseudo.html

Here's their e-mail (edited my stuff out):

From: Domain Renewal
To: info@xxxxxxxxxx.com
Sent: Tuesday, June 19, 2007 12:10 PM
Subject: www.xxxxxxx.info

It is time to renew you domain name www.xxxxxxx.info

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your domain name www.xxxxxxxx.info will expire within 90 days. You may
renew your domain automatically with a Domain Renewal. Click on the link in this e-mail to
renew the domain for another year. You should renew your domain as soon as possible in
order for it to continue to be registered in your name.

Click here if you wish to renew your domain
------------> http://www.domainrenewal-online.com/...d=xxxxxxx.info

As soon as we have received your payment, you will receive a confirmation that your domain
has been renewed.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Services and information about Domain Renewal.
Domain Renewal maintains domain addresses, and registers and consults companies in
relation to Internet domain ownership. We inform businesses about which domains are
registered, and remind them if a domain is due to expire, or when it is time to renew a domain.
If you want Domain Renewal to extend the domain for you, we ask you to click on the link in
this e-mail. If you do not wish to use your domain after the due date for renewal, you may
disregard this e-mail. When Domain Renewal extends your domain no information will be
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=343037
changed in the Whois information section. The domain will be extended for 1 year. You will
therefore continue with your current supplier. You may also request your Internet Service
Provider to renew the domain for you. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate
to contact our customer service centre by sending an e-mail to
support@domainrenewal-online.com



Domain Renewal's e-mail is no-reply@domainrenewal-online.com <no-reply@domainrenewal-online.com>.... whois:

DOMAIN: DOMAINRENEWAL-ONLINE.COM

RSP: Inter Domain Solutions LLC
URL: www.interdomainsolutions.com

created-date: 2007-04-24
updated-date: 2007-06-21
registration-expiration-date: 2008-04-24

owner-contact: P-PHG121
owner-organization: DOMAIN RENEWAL SA
owner-fname: pierre
owner-lname: grund
owner-street: Suite 9, Ansuya Estate
owner-city: Brussels


interdomainsolutions.com is:
owner-contact: P-IQD46
owner-organization: InterDomainSolutions LLC
owner-fname: inter
owner-lname: domain
owner-street: 2123 Pioneer Avenue
owner-city: Cheyenne
owner-zip: 81002
owner-country: US
owner-phone: 1.8888938590
owner-email: interdomainsolutions@gmail.com
__________________
A good domain name is worth more than money.
I've got domains up the Wazoo...wanna buy some?
verbster is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Danltn.com
 
Daniel's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Danltn.com / Nottingham, UK
Posts: 1,201
Daniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond reputeDaniel has a reputation beyond repute
 


Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund
Simple rule of thumb, if you bought it at GoDaddy, renew it at GoDaddy. Ignore everything else.
Daniel is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
hollywood's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Namepros
Posts: 241
hollywood is a jewel in the roughhollywood is a jewel in the roughhollywood is a jewel in the rough
 



yes there is too much bullsh!t in this world.

They are scanning whois expire dates and then spamming to try to sucker you into bending over.
__________________
"Because it really is that simple imho. If you don't want sheep for users, don't treat your users like sheep."
Memory Chips | Euro ETF | Flowers | A1c Levels & Diabetes
hollywood is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
ChrisChris's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
ChrisChris is a name known to allChrisChris is a name known to allChrisChris is a name known to allChrisChris is a name known to allChrisChris is a name known to allChrisChris is a name known to all
 



Wow They're trying to get $60 for a .info - Wouldn't surprise me if they were getting some people sucked into it
ChrisChris is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger