| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||
| The Caffeine King! Join Date: May 2006 Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 1,696
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Class action suit against ConsumerInfo.com / TripleAdvantage I just got this in my email.
| ||||
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
![]() | |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) | ||||||||
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: PA, USA
Posts: 3
![]() | I too received this e-mail today. I’ve never heard of any class action suit contacting by e-mail, nor have I ever seen a class action law suit requesting benefactors to sign up for a $9.95/mo service. When I didn’t find any reference to “Browning Settlement” “ConsumerInfo.com” or “Experian” on Garden City Group’s list of current class actions: http://www.gardencitygroup.com/cases/index.html my initial assumption was browningsettlement.com was using Garden City Group’s name in an effort to legitimize their claim. However further investigation shows gardencitygroup.com and browningsettlement.com to have IDENTICAL Whois records. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=288296 This means one of two things:. 1) browningsettlement.com mimicked Garden City Group’s Whois records to further identify themselves as a legitimate Garden City Group class action case. 2) Garden City Group is also part of this fraudulent deception. I’m siding with the latter. All a large gimmick to get people to sign up for a service. Not to mention who in their right mind would go to a site claiming to be part of a class action law suit and willingly give up their date of birth and social security number? (ref: https://cert.gardencitygroup.com/2ci/fs/updateAddress) Below is a copy of the e-mail I sent Garden City Group and Browning Settlement (I have omitted the attached header records):
| ||||||||
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
![]() | Whatever you do, DO NOT FILL OUT ANY ONLINE FORMS!!! Part of Garden City's scams is that they obtain your credit information from FreeCreditReport.com and start billing you, even using credit cards that you have never used for purchases. Their online form as part of this "settlement" are on an unsecured webpage (indicated by no https in the URL). If you were to fill out that form, which includes all your personal info, you would be transmitting your life over the web in an unsecured connection. DON'T DO IT. Ignore this offer and move on. |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
![]() | WOW Thanks! It looked so real. I got one today, but I noticed there was no *link* I could click on to register. So I did a search and your forum showed up. There should be some federal legal action on this matter, since they specifically talked about the federal courts. I may look into that and THANKS AGAIN! Update: I forwarded this to SPAM@UCE.GOV the Federal Trade Commission's Consumer Complaint Form
Last edited by stumomx3; 02-26-2007 at 08:55 AM.
Reason: UPDATE
|
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: PA, USA
Posts: 3
![]() |
__________________ Heh | ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: Cebu
Posts: 1,431
![]() ![]() ![]() | Ban the IP, same month of registration.
__________________ Professionally Designed VECTOR ICONS! |Search 1 gigabyte mails here! | Personal Blog | Soccer Blog | Manila Blog | Blog Directory | JQR.org - taking offers | Free Cebu City Photos |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2006 Location: OH
Posts: 374
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I did not receive the email but I did receive the actual printed version in the mail. I also did some research and found that the law firm mentioned in the suit to act "on our behalf and get us this settlement" (which by the way was denied in AL when they (Mr. Browning) tired it there), would get $2.55 Mil for their work in preparing the case. The firm has several other cases that they have acted on and if you check their reviews from clients 90% of them say they are out for themselves. In return they will get us either a free credit score or 2 months of credit monitoring (which we have to cancel or it will bill our card again.) ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=288296 I belived that it is true but did not take part and send back a letter of objection for several reasons: 1. Don't care to get credit monitoring (and dont want to have to remeber to cancel or get billed because I never remember, that is what supposedly got me in this in the first place) 2. Don't care to get a free credit score 3. Object to the fact that the shark lawyers will recieve $2.55 Mil for trying to prey on anyone they can - broken down that means that E. Clayton Lowe, Jr. and Peter A. Grammas of Lowe & Grammas LLP,of Birmingham AL, will each recieve a salary of $425,000/year while each person in the class action will get at the most $19.90 worth of product that they did'nt want in the first place. The requirements are that you paid for this service and did not get a refund for it which at the time I paid for it was $79.00 so if I take it I am still out $59.10. 4. Being a member of YPN, and having Yahoo!named in the class action I don't want to piss them off and give them a reason to cancel my account |
| |