NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Ebay Scam Alert

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
5 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2006, 06:00 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
sdtrader's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 591
sdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of light
 



Ebay Scam Alert


I just wanted to warn anyone receiving a message claiming to be an ebay customer asking for information about an item that you are selling, to be wary of a phishing scam.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/254799-ebay-scam-alert.html

I just received one asking for shipping price to California for an item I was selling.The reason I bring it up here is the email account used is one I commonly use at this forum.

Subject Line:Message From E-bay Member
First Line of content:eBay sent this message from keithmar11.

You would think someone trying to pull off this scam would at least try sending it to someone with an item for sale at ebay -LOL. It only again proves my theory that the criminally minded are weak in intelligence rivaling that of doorknob.

Has anyone else at namepros received this one lately?

Ebay recommends that anyone receiving such scam mails simply forward it to
spoof@ebay.com and then delete it.
sdtrader is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 164
amosba is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by sdtrader
You would think someone trying to pull off this scam would at least try sending it to someone with an item for sale at ebay -LOL. It only again proves my theory that the criminally minded are weak in intelligence rivaling that of doorknob.
Not really, they operate on the same basis as spammers - send out thousands of identical emails and you will get a handful of bites. You don't have anything for sale, or don't use that email address for eBay, but out of the thousands of emails the scammers send, there is a good chance that someone will have an item for sale and will click the link without thinking - success for the phishers.
amosba is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 09:49 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
sdtrader's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 591
sdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of lightsdtrader is a glorious beacon of light
 



Originally Posted by amosba
Not really, they operate on the same basis as spammers - send out thousands of identical emails and you will get a handful of bites.
Yes, I know how they operate - it just seems to me it increases the chances of being reported and possibly shut down or charged by a thousand fold.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=254799
Maybe i am not a good criminal and think too much in line with targeted advertising.
sdtrader is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
I'll do it
 
-Nick-'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: India
Posts: 6,939
-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness-Nick- Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
September 2007
Adoption
Humm... I also recieved emails like Ebay Customers asking for info.

Ebay Scam Alert.

My Ebay account is suspended. [Which I don't have]

Paypal Limited access notification.

Paypal needs to click me one or more links mentioned in the emails.

My domains are Hijacked.

My server is compromised.

Someone wants to give me 2,00,00,000
Don't know how many zeros.....

Someone wants me to have a look at their sites.

And some people wants to give me Money for Free and things with resale rights.
-Nick- is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger