NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Non-Profit Scam to Purchase Domain

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
5 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2006, 09:57 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
samtex is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Non-Profit Scam to Purchase Domain


I can't say 100% this is a scam, but I have seen this so often that is smells and looks like a scam in everyway. I have people submit an offer for a domain I have and claim to be a non-profit so they can get a lower price on the domain.

Here is an example:

Domain: xxxxxx.com
Offer: USD 100
Name: Joe Doe
E-mail: john.doe@gmail.com
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/224228-non-profit-scam-to-purchase-domain.html
Phone: 416-456-2339
Comment: I was wondering how much I can purchase this domain for. I am part of a non-profit organization of this name and this would greatly help our cause. Think of it like a donation.

Another example:

Hello,

Is your domain still for sale? I see you purchased it a few months ago. Please let me know. I am opening a non-profit and this is the name I hope for it to have.

Thanks very much,
Ilana


First off, I am tired of people wanting a hand out for stuff like this. Secondly, why doesn't the non-profit humble themselves a little bit and just purchase a $10 .com?

Has anyone else experienced this?
Last edited by samtex; 08-04-2006 at 10:55 AM.
samtex is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,531
Robert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud ofRobert Allen has much to be proud of
 


Third World Education Animal Cruelty Save a Life Marrow Donor Program Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Breast Cancer
Nope, it is not a scam. Unless they ask 'Appraise at xx'.

Robert
__________________
Great Directory | Global Web Links Directory
Visit the above and submit your link into the directory.
Robert Allen is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
newton's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,432
newton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant futurenewton has a brilliant future
 


Animal Rescue
I get these non-profit begging emails all the time and they go straight into the spam folder now.
__________________
The speed of light is faster than sound that's why some people appear bright until they open their mouths
newton is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 05:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sparkling Bottled Awsome Country
Posts: 876
Marcvs is just really niceMarcvs is just really niceMarcvs is just really niceMarcvs is just really nice
 



apart from one thing john.doe is the example apple email so its probably a scam!
Marcvs is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 02:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
dna
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 646
dna is just really nicedna is just really nicedna is just really nicedna is just really nice
 



I think its probabily a ruse to get you to accept a lowball offer.
dna is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Account Suspended
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 120
spaggle is on a distinguished road
 



Don't fall for it. Non-profits make more money than you think.
spaggle is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger