| |||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member | Another operaen.com appraisal scam Just received the email below and although I didn't respond to him yet, I think we all know what will happen next. It's coming from a dial-up account in Moscow, Russia. If you get this email from him you can complain to his isp at abuse@mtu.ru His domain name is parked with a Norwegian webhost and I guess his emails are forwarded by the host. If you want to complain to the host being used in an ongoing fraud, contact them at support@webhuset.no The whois for operaen.com lists the same Norwegian webhost as the registrant and admin contact. If you feel this is inaccurate, you can file a complaint regarding invalid whois data at http://wdprs.internic.net or contact the host at support@webhuset.no. His billing provider is emetrix.com. If you want to complain to them being used in an angoing fraud, contact them at support@emetrix.com Opera Solutions <herosuki@operaen.com> to me Hello, Please send me price for your domain. We are very interested in this name. Did you get offers from other people already? Our company develops client-server systems (Delphi / Interbase), so investing in domain names is not my main business. Looking forward to do business with you. Best regards, Masafumi Herosuki, Ph. D. President Opera Solutions Ltd. ================================================== ========================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ================================================== ========================= |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Account Closed | they have the cheek to send us a udated email they are using now From: Opera Software [browser@operaen.com] Add Contacts Create Group Filter Junk Mail Show All Headers Print View Date: 2006/08/26 16:27 To: Cc: Subject: Email address change Hello, I have change my email address to browser@operaen.com Please send all email to this new address. Regards, Hansen Vice President Opera Software ================================================== ========================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ================================================== ========================= |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) | |
| Domains my Dominion | They may have to find another E-mail address... (hopefully) Just wrote to Webhuset Their reply: Quote:
__________________ Buy now - MassDeveloper.com $500 | |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) | ||
| www.randypendleton.com | They aren't worth my time. I got this email not long ago: Quote:
My "humble" reply: Quote:
__________________ Randy L Pendleton, author -- www.RandyPendleton.com Will Be Back Soon! cPanelHosting.com-cPanel Experts For 8 Years Hosting From $4.99 And 2 Months Free Australia Web hosting | Political Cartoons | Social network of blogs | ||
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Ex-President Forum Moderator | I just got one of these yesterday as well. They were using investment@operaen.com and claimed to be the Vice President of Opera Software. So I decided to inform legal@opera.com, because they may be interested to know that someone is using their TM and damaging the reputation of their company. They have the resources to go after him too, so they can worry about it. ----- Just recieved a response from Stephan Brodschöll, General Counsel for Opera Software, informing me that they are aware of the issue and are taking action. Good, someone needs to take down these scammers. Last edited by slipxaway; 10-05-2006 at 03:37 AM. |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | |
| www.randypendleton.com | Quote:
GREAT! Hope to hear updates from them...
__________________ Randy L Pendleton, author -- www.RandyPendleton.com Will Be Back Soon! cPanelHosting.com-cPanel Experts For 8 Years Hosting From $4.99 And 2 Months Free Australia Web hosting | Political Cartoons | Social network of blogs | |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | Hey all - I've been receiving these scam e-mails as well, so sent an e-mail to the web host that was being used by the criminals. Here is the reply I received: Hello, The account is now closed. -- Erlend Hamre webhuset.no/kundesenter Of course, the slimeballs will move on to some other server - but at least it's a start. |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | Received an email from them last night. From: Opera Technologies domaininvest@operaen.com Subject: bursaries.us Hello, Could you send me price for the name mentioned in the subject line? By the way, investing in domain names is not the main direction of our business but a good way to generate additional income. If you have other domain names for sale please send us the complete list with prices for consideration. I'm a very busy person so it may take several hours before I respond :-) Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Andrew Oldstrom Vice President Opera Technologies ================================================== ========================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ================================================== ========================= Coming from, you guessed it: chen.mtu.ru ([195.34.34.232]) Received: from firstbroker (ppp128-106.dialup.mtu-net.ru [62.118.128.106]) by smtp.MTU.RU (Postfix) with SMTP id D788654D8DE |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) | |
| Ex-President Forum Moderator | Quote:
He'll tell you he wants you to get an appraisal on the domain before he is willing to buy it. Then he suggests a specific appraisal service.. Once you get the appraisal (which is extremely expensive as far as appraisals go), you'll never hear from him again... So basically he tricks people into paying for appraisals. | |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | I guess he is a Norwegian here is the email i got Hello, Please email me price for the name mentioned in the subject line. If you have other domain names for sale please send us the complete list with prices for consideration. I'm a very busy person so it may take several hours before I respond :-) Our company develops software. By the way, investing in domain names is not the main direction of our investing strategy but a good way to generate additional income. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, George Saive President Disponent Software Solutions ================================================== ========================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ================================================== ========================= Hehe have you seen this before???
__________________ Best Regard Jim :tu: BIIP.MOBI TULL.MOBI TVEN.MOBI YEEY.MOBI Pm Me for Norwegian Domains or Help |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | |
| www.randypendleton.com | That's pretty much the same letter he sends to everyone, albeit he changes his name in it a lot. Quote:
__________________ Randy L Pendleton, author -- www.RandyPendleton.com Will Be Back Soon! cPanelHosting.com-cPanel Experts For 8 Years Hosting From $4.99 And 2 Months Free Australia Web hosting | Political Cartoons | Social network of blogs | |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |