| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Chase Bank - Fake or what?
http://www.erotik-basar.de/catalog/i...com/chase.html made to look like chase bank web site. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/156612-chase-bank-fake-or-what.html pls. take note that I don't have any chase bank account but I still receive this email about thrice a week.
Last edited by weblord; 01-11-2006 at 07:11 PM.
Reason: removed my email address
| ||||
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| If only you knew... Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: Inside your head...
Posts: 990
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | No need for you to personally worry, as you don't even have a Chase account. If this had been anywhere NEAR real, Chase would have known that..lol. And no bank is going to use an URL offsite anyway. Simply put, banks do not ask you to confirm anything online via email. If this had really happened (and you actually had a Chase account), Chase would have contacted you first by phone, and probably then by snail-mail. And, in the interium just put a "hold" on the account, IMMEDIATELY - not waiting till the 7th of January. This (spoofing banks) is one of the most common scams going on the net. Even Ebay accounts get broken into by the untold numbers, by internet newbies falling for this. Established sites that take security big-time serious, like Ebay and banks, don't ask for confirmation or info online for ANTYHING, uless it is IMMEDIATLY AFTER you fill in a form on their site. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=156612 As to this scammer, it appears the page was removed. Maybe his host saw it In the hope (but since it removed may or may not help...but why not try) of helping other netters from being taken-in by this character, I'd do the following, if I was you:---Contact his server: The "Admin" contact for the server is hostmaster@ns2.denoc.de . ---Contact Chase Bank: http://www.chase.com/cm/cs?urlname=s...ge/general.jsp . Give both a full copy of the email, with headers. Maybe, between the two of them, they can stop him. His server will more than likely just close his account, but that atealst causes him to have to move it. Chase - they know how to contact German authorities/law enforcement - not saying they will, but if they don't its their rep on the line.
__________________ --- The greatest truths ever told, and the greatest lies ever told, all consist of exactly the same three words: "I LOVE YOU" --- The best say little, only say what is important.....then they shut up and sit down. |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2004 Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,279
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I get these all the time, more annoying than anything else, and I'm not a Chase customer. One advantage to having a small hometown bank is that they don't usually get phished like the big ones do. I get ones claiming to be from Paypal and Ebay as well. The only annoying thing about these is that it is like crying wolf. I got a real letter from Paypal reminding me about a card expiring, and I was hesitant to even bother to open as it was probably just one of the spams, but it was actually from them. They DID NOT however ask for any information or to click on the link to update the account from the email. They merely stated the last four digits of my card and told me to go to their site to fix it (no link). So for not knowing which are real and which aren't, they are annoying to the ones who've been around and hip to their game, but hopefully not too many new people fall for these scams. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I already reported it before i posted here in the attempt to show someone to be careful with it as for me i don't have accounts with them, i guess one of those email harvester harvested my email and they just blindly blasted the phishing email. thanks for the assurance though and the reporting info |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Premium 3 Letter UMB.net! ;) | Collector | Domains For Sale - Make Offer | 19 | 07-07-2005 07:45 PM |
| fake internet bank site to shut | THESTOKIE | Industry News | 0 | 12-28-2003 05:36 PM |