| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | be careful with servage.net they tend to oversell on their bandwidth, the reason i signed up with them is because I was attracted with the bandwidth their offering and the fast response of Steffan from www.servage.net ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/155937-be-careful-with-servage-net.html the first month is ok, but when you're trying to get lots of forum posts, and uploads, then the problem comes. see the proof of their email, I managed to save the full headers as proof. I was not able to report all at once because at that time Im still hosted with them and been trying to get a good alternative host. Just judge from their emails, was there server hacked and the hacker sends a suspension notice to all the members, or are they doing it themselves? ======= Subject: High Load - Account Suspended Sender: <customerbounce@servage.net> To: XXX@XXX.XXX From: Servage - Steffan <ssf@servage.com> X-Eon-DM: dm11 X-Msmail-Priority: High X-Priority: 1 Received: from www.servage.net (62.214.98.126 [62.214.98.126])by dm11.mta.everyone.net (EON-INBOUND) with ESMTP id dm11.435c576b.e6e83dfor <XXX@XXX.XX>; Thu, 27 Oct 2005 15:51:10 -0700 (PDT) from www.servage.net (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])by www.servage.net (8.12.5/8.12.5) with ESMTP id j9RMp9qN009272for <XXX@XXX.XX>; Thu, 27 Oct 2005 22:51:09 GMT (from root@localhost)by www.servage.net (8.12.5/8.12.5/Submit) id j9RMp8nI009270;Thu, 27 Oct 2005 22:51:08 GMT Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1 ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=155937 Return-Path: <customerbounce@servage.net> Mime-Version: 1.0 Reply-To: ssf@servage.com Date: Thu, 27 Oct 2005 22:51:08 GMT X-Mailer: Servage Order System Message-Id: <200510272251.j9RMp8nI009270@www.servage.net> Dear Customer, I'm afraid I have bad news for you. We have been forced to take your account offline for the day due to an extremely high load on your account. The last 30 minutes our servers served more than 101208 requests for your account. As stated in our terms of service we are allowed to take offline accounts which harm other customers. In your case we have determined that it would badly affect other customers if we kept your site online. Therefore we have temporarily suspended your account. We will lift the suspension at approximately 01.00 GMT. If you have any questions please submit a support ticket via the control panel and our support staff will be happy to answer any questions you may have. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, Steffan, http://www.servage.net ===== Subject: Wrongful Suspension Notice Sender: <customerbounce@servage.net> To: XXX@XXX.XXx From: Servage Hosting <ssf@servage.net> X-Eon-DM: dm12 Received: from www.servage.net (62.214.98.126 [62.214.98.126])by dm12.mta.everyone.net (EON-INBOUND) with ESMTP id dm12.435c576e.e8f88bfor <XXX@XXX.XX>; Thu, 27 Oct 2005 17:18:18 -0700 (PDT) from www.servage.net (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])by www.servage.net (8.12.5/8.12.5) with ESMTP id j9S0IHqN015489for <XXX@XXX.XX>; Fri, 28 Oct 2005 00:18:17 GMT (from root@localhost)by www.servage.net (8.12.5/8.12.5/Submit) id j9S0IHDa015487;Fri, 28 Oct 2005 00:18:17 GMT Return-Path: <customerbounce@servage.net> Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1 Mime-Version: 1.0 Date: Fri, 28 Oct 2005 00:18:17 GMT Message-Id: <200510280018.j9S0IHDa015487@www.servage.net> We have been informed by a number of users that they have received a wrongful suspension notice. Your site should not have been suspended. This situation is very unfortunate and we are working hard to find out why the email was sent out. We are taking this situation very seriously and no brick will be left unturned! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Best regards, Steffan, Servage Hosting ======== the second email they sent seems promising but no work done about it. What's very frustrating about this is still they denied that they are the one responsible for taking my web site offline. I must have taught during those times Im talking to different persons but it's not.
Last edited by weblord; 01-09-2006 at 10:05 PM.
Reason: removed email address
|
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 263
![]() ![]() | Not beware, you were simply overloading the server, just that! And it will happen to you wherever you go if your forum for any reason is causing such behaviour regardless the number of posts or members Besides bear in mind they just moved servers and the old databases were not working properly; I receive a message from Steffan saying my forum with moderated traffic was causing mysql overload and advicing me to backup the database and recreate it within the new servers. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=155937 I did it and the problem was solved so I can widely recommend their services as I did it here: http://www.namepros.com/showthread.p...hlight=servage |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 263
![]() ![]() | Definitely, remoted hosted forums used to be the best solution when the traffic may become a problem. However, if your site was suspended by mistake, a hacker attempt or somebody pretending to be servage, does everything was sorted via email? In my experience I have seen prompt response using the support ticket system but not the email which requires authentication getting in touch with Steffan. Sadly the stats doesn't reflect the search engine hits but I have found that Yahoo may cause server overload and this is explained in the Yahoo Knowledge base with directions to control and schedule its crawler via robots.txt If you can reach the support ticket still, I suggest to keep trying and explain what you believe are the possible causes and possibilities like this about Yahoo I'm telling you about.
Last edited by Chronos; 01-10-2006 at 08:35 PM.
|
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) | ||||||||||||
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | As I originally posted:
I've tried to the point of exhaustion, sad to say when i mentioned about lawyer's stuff, they deleted all my contents. That is why I'm reporting I lost access I only uploaded from backup made on my computer. mysql was backuped weeks old ![]() Quoting Steffan...
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=155937 so my posts still stands as "be careful.." yeah i admit it's cheap pricing theyre carrying on their site and 11gb is ok with me per day so I trusted my money with them, sad to say I got what I paid for, it's really cheap..
Last edited by weblord; 01-10-2006 at 09:35 PM.
| ||||||||||||
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 263
![]() ![]() | Reading again.... yes, I can see it clear and no doubt there is something wrong in there and this can happen to any of us I'm afraid. Someone said "learn to expect the unexpected" but that doesn't help at all feeling pissed as now I understand you are feeling. Sadly I can't give you any other advice or help over this issue so accept me for a moment crying with you because I know how hard is setup a website and lost everything without warning for a misleading or misunderstanding and keeping only old almost useless copies in the HD (happened to me at riothost.com time ago) |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: I ♥ Business Law
Posts: 3,082
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | According to their own FAQ, they boldly state why the oversell:
I guess they don't find anything wrong with overselling, but it's not to the benefit of their customers apart from the low price IMO | ||||
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Be Careful Who You Fly With ;) | yandig | The Break Room | 7 | 11-21-2005 05:28 PM |
| EU registrations, be very careful of your credit/debit cards | mole | Domain Name Discussion | 10 | 11-09-2005 02:19 AM |
| Be Careful Of Domains With More Than One Meaning | Dave Zan | Domain Name Discussion | 29 | 10-21-2005 03:46 AM |
| Be very careful with ebay spoof emails. | MissFlora | Domain Name Discussion | 14 | 12-09-2004 01:19 PM |
| Be very careful of an appraisal scam: fastdomainsales.com | Languillon | Domain Appraisals | 7 | 11-11-2004 06:28 PM |