| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,452
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | New variation of paypal scam email...be careful this is serious... I almost shit my pants when I read this. Within 3 seconds of getting this email I went to paypal (I typed it myself) and checked my account. It wasn't true. The reason why I was so nervous was because I had just added a new email today and of course it's the same email I got earlier today. Now I see how people can fall for this, if I didn't just from habit type it out myself, I would have falled for this. This is probably the first time I've ever gotten an email and within seconds went straight to the site. I was nervous I was thinking somebody is going to try to drain the bank account tied into the paypal, let me stop them fast. By the way the link that says it's https://paypal.com leads to http://www.sofia.com.br/webscr/update.html an exact copy of paypal. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/155596-new-variation-paypal-scam-email-careful.html From: service@paypal.com Date: 01/08/06 21:41:32 To: me Subject: You have added newaddress06@aol.com to your Paypal account !! New email address added to your account ! You have added newaddress06@aol.com as a new email address for your PayPal account. If you did not authorize this change or if you need assistance with your account, please contact PayPal customer service at: https://www.paypal.com/row/wf/f=ap_email Thank you for using PayPal! The PayPal Team. Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the header of any page. ---------------------------------------------------------------- PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at https://www. paypal. com/ Protect yourself against fraudulent websites by opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and typing in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account. ---------------------------------------------------------------- PayPal Email ID PP1309 |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,779
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got one the other day that was saying that someone from a foreign country was trying to access my account, but paypal doesn't even have that email address so I figured it was fake. Anyway, thanks for letting us know!
__________________ Attractive, Compelling, Efficient Web Design & Development |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2004 Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 275
![]() ![]() ![]() | I would guesstimate that I have received the "You've added a new email address....." maybe 100 times. I dont even open anything which says paypal in it anymore. I just delete. If there was an issue with my PP account I would notice it when I am in my PP account. |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) | ||||||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 263
![]() ![]() | Yet another variant on the same scam I used to receive very often such scams until I reported the situation to paypal a couple of times, then I'm receiving in daily basis the following email coming from different "ebay" sites which urls is not www.ebay.com:
but everyday comes from different fake URLS (most of them chineses) to notify an impossible fraud because my targeted email is not registered at ebay. Of particular interest is to know the message is not text but a scanned image mapped to look real but pointing to the scammer web as you may see through such email souce code:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=155596 | ||||||||
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2005 Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,839
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | yea.. i get that ebay think alot... the even funnier thing is that i never registered with ebay.. so its like.. WTF... i seriously think that the goverment should do a better ob at cracking down on scamming... they seem to be moving really really slow at it..
__________________ Poker News, articles, discussion LIKE THIS Its an iPod, a phone, and an internet communications device. |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Minnesota
Posts: 50
![]() | I've gotten that very same PayPal email every day for the past 3-4 weeks. I've forwarded it on to spoof_PayPal with full headers each time, and am still getting them. I don't have much confidence that PayPal will be doing anything to stop these, however. Last month, I received an email from PayPal isssuing me a "First Warning" for using my personal account to obtain a cash advance from a credit card or helping someone else to do it....the funny thing is, I don't have a bank account or credit card attached to my account, so my Premier account is nothing more than a savings account - I can't pull any money out. When I contacted them about it, they told me in their own sweet way, "Ve hav our vays of knowing these things", even when I pointed out that it would be imposssible...... ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=155596 *sigh* What can you do? Renee |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
![]() | I got one today. However I always check the header info and saw it was not from paypal, just a spoofed email address and the links go to a phishing website used to capture your account info.
__________________ Nap Jones
Last edited by napjones; 01-10-2006 at 08:14 AM.
|
| |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,785
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | when it doubt type the url manually don't click i got one again, how many times will i have to tell i don't have paypal the offending url is: http://194.185.112.226/alsitech/imag...pal/index.html ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=155596
| ||||
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: South West UK
Posts: 331
![]() | If you're ever in doubt about an email from Paypal, forward it to spoof@paypal.com and they'll reply and let you know if it's real or not...
__________________ Oli Allen PLRSearch - Organize your PLR articles (or any text files) Exports directly to SEO SmArticle Composer |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
![]() | I've been getting heaps of these spoof emails to my ABUSE@ address... Obviously, it is spoof so I just report it to spamcop, where it gets forwarded to spoof@paypal.com aswell. Thanks, Mini |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| what to do with the usual SCAM email | pertosda | Domain Name Discussion | 18 | 09-15-2005 10:14 AM |
| Beware of a fake PayPal email! | Ringr | Warnings & Alerts | 4 | 07-18-2005 08:35 PM |
| OT: PayPal fraud email | DomMike | The Break Room | 15 | 02-10-2004 05:18 AM |
| ** URGENT - PayPal Scam ** | Matt | Warnings & Alerts | 11 | 11-24-2003 08:54 PM |