NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page FBI, FTC issue warning after rash of ID thefts

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
5 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2003, 09:33 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 650
bobbi is an unknown quantity at this point
 



FBI, FTC issue warning after rash of ID thefts


Be sure to check your e-mails very closely if you open any of them asking for personal information, so that you don't become a victim of Identity Theft. This is why I am somewhat afraid to use my cards online.

July 21 — It may look like an e-mail from eBay, or PayPal, or Earthlink. It may sound like a simple request: fill in a form because the firm wants to update your personal information. But such e-mails are often cleverly disguised scams from computer criminals trying to steal your credit card number and other financial data. More and more, people are falling for the trick, authorities say. It’s a disturbing kind of identity theft — with victims just handing over their private information to the criminals.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/15037-fbi-ftc-issue-warning-after-rash.html

http://msnbc.com/news/941872.asp?0dm=N219T
bobbi is offline  
Old 07-27-2003, 02:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,255
deadserious has a spectacular aura aboutdeadserious has a spectacular aura about
 



I got an email like that a few weeks ago. It looks like they may have finally got shut down.

FROM: ".Biz Renewal" <biz_bounce@yahoo.com>
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=15037

Dear Registrant,

Your domain MYDOMAIN.BIZ is due for renewal shortly. If you wish to renew your domain name please see our web site:

http://www.domain-renewal.biz

IMPORTANT: FAILURE TO RENEW YOUR DOMAIN BEFORE ITS EXPIRY DATE
WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF SERVICE.

Registration Fees:

2 Years - $30/year
3-5 Years - $22/year
6-10 Years - $19/Year

All costs are US Dollars. Should you have any questions on renewing your domain please fill out our online contact form.

.BIZ Renewal
http://www.domain-renewal.biz

----------------------------------
If you no longer wish to receive domain renewal notifications
via email see http://www.domain-renewal.biz/notifications.htm
This email was sent to dns@MYDOMAIN
deadserious is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger