NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page ebrnetwork.com - Embryo scam ?

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2005, 06:19 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
axolotl is an unknown quantity at this point
 



ebrnetwork.com - Embryo scam ?


Received today.

Domain registered early December, to 'Sergey Karpov' in
Kiev Ukraine. Within a week of creation, a nice
western name 'Eric Rowe' is writing on behalf of 'clients'.

Appraisal request to follow ?
I need a break, it's nearly Christmas.

Cheers all.

=================================================

ebrnetwork.com
==============
Creation Date: 2005-12-04

ebrnetwork.com
==============
Registrant:
Sergey Karpov +380.443845684
Private person
Zaporozhtsa, 7, 83
Kiev,Kiev,UKRAINE 01001



> Hello,
>
> I have a client who's working on a new project and
> would be interested in purchasing your domain name,
> "######.com".
>
> Would you be willing to sell?
>
> Please reply with any interest at your earliest
> convenience.
>
> Thank you,
>
> Eric Rowe
> eric@ebrnetwork.com
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/149285-ebrnetwork-com-embryo-scam.html

=================================================
axolotl is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
First Time Poster!
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
UrbanFigaro is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I got the same email, and found this site by searching on ebrnetwork. Totally bogus, but it had me fooled for a couple minutes.
UrbanFigaro is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
First Time Poster!
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
JamieKeller is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I got the same email. At least I know it was a fake even though I wasn't going to sell that particular domain anyway.
JamieKeller is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
First Time Poster!
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
secopo96 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



ebrnetwork.com alias Erice Rowe


We received similar offer to buy domain name we own. we sent email back saying we would sell it for $10 MM. He came back with email telling to send banking info right away, because he wanted to complete transaction before year end since a write off anyway.
secopo96 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
RogueWriter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Smalltown USA
Posts: 5,024
RogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond reputeRogueWriter has a reputation beyond repute
 



Crapola. Doggonit, initial letter had me fooled, because he inquired about my favorite domain. After replying, the little bells started gently ringing in my head, and I came here and searched for 'eric rowe'.

Crapola, again.

- - - - - -
Hello,

I have a client who's working on a new project and
would be interested in purchasing your domain name, "***********.com".

Would you be willing to sell?

Please reply with any interest at your earliest
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=149285
convenience.

If you could give me a price or ballpark figure to
take back to my client that would be great as well.

Thank you,

Eric Rowe
eric@ebrnetwork.com
__________________
"I'm so mean I make MEDICINE sick." -Muhammad Ali
Last edited by RogueWriter; 01-23-2006 at 08:53 AM.
RogueWriter is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
marzzo is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Hmm.....


Interesting, I got one of these emails a while ago too and just googled it again today and came up with this as the first search result for ebrnetwork.com:

Direct link to a PDF file for the annual meeting of scarboroughcrossroads.org to take place on Feb. 28th, 2006.

Google cache of the same PDF file only in HTML format, but this one has a different agenda item #2:

2) Offer to purchase domain name scarboroughmaine.com from Eric Rowe,
EBRNETWORK.com on behalf of a client.

Very interesting..

[ edit: my first post I guess, greetings everyone ]
marzzo is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appraisal Scam Investigation [CLOSED] UKZJ007 Warnings & Alerts 57 04-10-2006 02:58 AM
ToughNet SCAM barefoottech Warnings & Alerts 1 07-19-2005 05:42 PM
Huge scam against sedo, afternic airnike764 Warnings & Alerts 11 04-06-2005 02:20 AM
Appraisal Scam Alive And Well! shendia Warnings & Alerts 34 09-03-2004 10:50 PM
enom scam right here in this forum domainnameappraisals Warnings & Alerts 7 06-28-2003 11:34 AM

Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger