| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||||||
| Graphic Designer Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Scotland
Posts: 221
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Paypal Scam ? i got this email today
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/134614-paypal-scam.html Anyway just now i got another email
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=134614 what the hell is going on here? it looks real to me.. ?
__________________ | ||||||||
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: Scotland
Posts: 5,069
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | although the displayed url's look correct the email is written in html when you click the link it does direct you to where it looks like it should just the same as the following link will not send you to paypal:- http://www.paypal.com these scams are a regular thing. The best advise you can have is dont click on links from emails that claim to be from these types of companies, instead type in the address yourself and log in. If the email is true you will be able to check yourself. |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: ~USA~
Posts: 1,590
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Yep they are a scam. Be careful. Always make sure to look in the adress bar. And even then you have to be careful because they might have a adress like confirm.154payal. Something like that that might make it look legit but its not. Spy
__________________ Retired. |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,779
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | There's always a ton of ebay/paypal scams running around out there. Just ignore them
__________________ Attractive, Compelling, Efficient Web Design & Development |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=134614 If there's an issue with your account that needs cleared up then they will post a message on your account when you sign in and on eBay you will receive a message in the "My Messages" system... Here's more info on the PayPal phishing problem direct from their website, https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...ySpoof-outside Also here's more info on the major eBay phishing issue, http://pages.ebay.com/education/spoo...ial/index.html
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. | ||||
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 825
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | A tip: If you click on a link and the window that appears has no address bar so that you cannot see the URL you have gone to, it is almost certainly phishing. Instead of lcicking on links in these e-mails, right-click and select "Copy hyperlink". THen paste this link into a new browser window. Then look at it and see if the site is actually the site you expect it to be. Also, there are various grammar mistakes in the e-mail above -- again, a sure fire sign that it is fake.
__________________ Domain deals are a click away |
| |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2004 Location: Emerald Triangle
Posts: 4,558
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The newest I've seen~ Dear valued PayPal® member: It has come to our attention that your PayPal® account information needs to be updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service. However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=134614 Please update your records on or before October 28,2005. Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal® session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. To update your PayPal® records click on the following link: http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run Thank You. PayPal® Update Team PayPal, Inc. P.O. Box 45950 Omaha, NE 68145 Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, PayPal® will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions. http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr...rivacy-outside
__________________ Remember who your loyalties are divided between, and choose for the right reasons who deserves them. |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Website and Application Content Databases | odditysoftware | Content For Sale | 8 | 01-20-2006 05:34 AM |
| PayPal Project (codename [URGENT!]) | Zubair1 | Business Development | 27 | 12-21-2005 03:16 AM |
| Paypal Download Protector | nulled | For Sale / Advertising Board | 1 | 09-28-2005 02:58 PM |
| enom scam right here in this forum | domainnameappraisals | Warnings & Alerts | 7 | 06-28-2003 11:34 AM |
| WARNING: PayPal Fraud Emails | NamePopper | Warnings & Alerts | 18 | 06-27-2003 08:01 PM |