NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page ** URGENT - PayPal Scam **

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2003, 11:57 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,923
Matt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud of
 

Approved Contest Holder
Approved Contest Holder

** URGENT - PayPal Scam **


A mate emailed me just now saying this cam to him from PayPal.

It comes with an attachment :

The name of the virus was Win32/Mimail.I@mm


The content of the mail reads :

Subject : PayPal
Body : Dear PayPal member,

PayPal would like to inform you about some important information regarding your PayPal account. This account, which is associated with the email address

xxx@xxx.tld

will be expiring within five business days. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause, but this is occurring because all of our customers are required to update their account settings with their personal information.

We are taking these actions because we are implementing a new security policy on our website to insure everyone's absolute privacy. To avoid any interruption in PayPal services then you will need to run the application that we have sent with this email (see attachment) and follow the instructions. Please do not send your personal information through email, as it will not be as secure.

IMPORTANT! If you do not update your information with our secure application within the next five business days then we will be forced to deactivate your account and you will not be able to use your PayPal account any longer. It is strongly recommended that you take a few minutes out of your busy day and complete this now.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/11334-urgent-paypal-scam.html

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE VIA EMAIL! This mail is sent by an automated message system and the reply will not be received.

Thank you for using PayPal.

iekimzhm
-------------------------------

you have been warned.
Rgds,
Matt
__________________
Gamerz.Biz - Possibly For Sale
Matt is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,370
jj2ii3344 is a jewel in the roughjj2ii3344 is a jewel in the roughjj2ii3344 is a jewel in the roughjj2ii3344 is a jewel in the rough
 



Thanks SY4, I received a smiliar email a few days ago!
__________________
www.canonlens.ws
Updated daily - Get Canon lens reviews and good deals on new/used Canon lens from CanonLens.ws![/SIZE]
jj2ii3344 is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
Tippy's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 7,019
Tippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond repute
 



Thanks SY4, I havnt gotten one yet but will keep an eye out for it, I'll forward it to you if I get one lol
Tippy is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:42 PM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,923
Matt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud of
 

Approved Contest Holder
Approved Contest Holder

No skin of my teeth ; )

I got 3 layers of virus protection in place..lmao
__________________
Gamerz.Biz - Possibly For Sale
Matt is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
Delete's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,104
Delete is a jewel in the roughDelete is a jewel in the roughDelete is a jewel in the rough
 



I get alot of those on my hotmail account. I assume that 90% of my emails from hotmail are scams
Delete is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:45 PM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,923
Matt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud of
 

Approved Contest Holder
Approved Contest Holder

this was sent to a mates private account.....Just a warning
__________________
Gamerz.Biz - Possibly For Sale
Matt is offline  
Old 11-23-2003, 11:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NeonHQ.com
Posts: 939
pelican is a jewel in the roughpelican is a jewel in the roughpelican is a jewel in the rough
 



i did not receive, but i wont login anywhere except through browser by typing in the url manually.
__________________
NeonHQ, Your Friendly and Affordable Webhosting Provider
www.NeonHQ.com
InfoHQ@NeonHQ.com
Look at some of the domains we sell www.NeonHQ.com/domainlist.php
pelican is offline  
Old 11-23-2003, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Kodeking's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Naperville Illinois
Posts: 1,786
Kodeking is just really niceKodeking is just really niceKodeking is just really niceKodeking is just really nice
 



There seems to be a new one of these things everyday. Stupid scammers.
__________________
Quote:
Clan-Forums.com >> $30 BoardingForum.com >> $100
TalkWebHosting.com >> $200 AvoidChapter13.com >> $100
Send PM to make lesser offers on the above names.
Kodeking is offline  
Old 11-23-2003, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
redhippo's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ANForum
Posts: 5,218
redhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to behold
 



Quote:
Originally posted by Kodeking
There seems to be a new one of these things everyday. Stupid scammers.
not too stupid...if 1% of the random email blast 50000000 fall for it ......cool retirement in bahamas

just like the nigerians scam.
Quote:
Originally posted by SY4
No skin of my teeth ; )

I got 3 layers of virus protection in place..lmao
well armed....what do you use?
__________________
|www.vb-skins.com|- Quality Premade Vbulletin skins for Your VB forum makeover |www.Banjir.com|-Free image hosting?[B]For Sale!|AlphaScripts|Money Generating Scripts
FREE VB Skins
redhippo is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 12:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
webmasterinfo's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: At home
Posts: 2,053
webmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to beholdwebmasterinfo is a splendid one to behold
 



Thanks for the warning
__________________
Work!
webmasterinfo is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 06:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
DavidH's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 1,102
DavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant futureDavidH has a brilliant future
 



As per advice on the real Paypal site (https://www.paypal.com), send a copy of the email to

spoof@paypal.com

so they can try to do something about it and then delete the email from your computer.

I did this with one recently and Paypal came back very quickly (after the automatic acknowledgement) to confirm they were dealing with it.

If we all do this, perhaps, just perhaps, we might be able collectively to shut these spammers down.

DavidH
__________________
www.WildcatDomains.com
DavidH is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 08:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,143
g0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to allg0ldy is a name known to all
 



i just recieved this today, thanks for the heads up
g0ldy is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger