NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > Warnings & Alerts
Reload this Page Beware of a fake PayPal email!

Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with.

Advanced Search
5 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2005, 03:17 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ringr's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,381
Ringr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to behold
 



Beware of a fake PayPal email!


I received one of these on two different email addresses

Originally Posted by email
We recently have determined that different computers have logged into your PayPal account, and multiple password failures were present before the login. One of our Customer Service employees has already tryed to telephonically reach you. As our employee did not manage to reach you, this email has been sent to your notice.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/107208-beware-of-a-fake-paypal-email.html
Therefore your account has been temporary suspended. We need you to confirm your identity in order to regain full privileges of your account.
If this is not completed by July 18, 2005, we reserve the right to terminate all privileges of your account indefinitly, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner.
To confirm your identity please follow the link below:

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run




Thank you for your patience in this matter.

PayPal - Customer Service

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
The from address said "sevice@paypal.com" but it was obviousley fake

But if you get this email, BEWARE of the URL they give you (I bolded it in red above). The hyperlink goes to to the scammer's website but they make it look like it is Paypal.
The real URL it goes to is: http://paypal.com.login-user2626.inf....php?cmd=LogIn which might look real to some users. Don't be fooled!

So whatever you do, do not enter your Paypal info on the site above (that they link to) in as I am sure they are logging all of the activity on their site.

I'm reporting this to Paypal and the the domain "login-user2626.info" to the registrar and possibly the authorities.
Ringr is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 03:45 PM THREAD STARTER               #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ringr's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,381
Ringr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to beholdRingr is a splendid one to behold
 



No problem.

Now the site has been reported to the registrar and to PayPal.

Oh, and his Yahoo ID is "soparlaproasta" if anyone wants to flame him out.
Ringr is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Account Suspended
 
vip-ip's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: root@localhost
Posts: 4,011
vip-ip is an unknown quantity at this point
 



NOOOOOOOOOO REALLY???

Classic phishing. So old.... I wonder if it still gets people.
vip-ip is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 93
swoop has a spectacular aura aboutswoop has a spectacular aura about
 



If Paypal, eBay or Federal Credit Union were to ever send me an important email I'd be in a heap of trouble, because they hit the trash (unopened) as soon as they arrive.
swoop is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fake Ebay Email Look in! DotUSDomains Domain Name Discussion 4 04-27-2005 06:52 PM
86'd from Paypal AND Amazon just for owning a Domain Name andriegel Domain Name Discussion 54 04-07-2005 10:45 AM
WARNING: PayPal Fraud Emails NamePopper Warnings & Alerts 18 06-27-2003 07:01 PM

 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger