| | |||||
| ||||||||
| The Break Room Casual discussion about non-industry related topics. |
![]() | NamePros Account Upgrade | Forum Sponsorship |
| Take advantage of our upgraded membership levels (2 levels to choose from) so you can have MORE active sales threads, Custom Titles, A Directory Listing, Invisible Mode, Message Tracking, And MORE! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Account Suspended Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: England
Posts: 1,169
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Ebay These people must be great fans of ebay, they setup a website looking exactly the same as ebay, lol, i sense a scam, try logging in with 1234 or something, i got this through an email lol : http://www.blue-easter.com/eBaySuspe...Name-hhsin.php here is the html in the email: HTML Code: <br> <div id=message> <table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 width="100%"><tr><td> <table cellSpacing="0" cellPadding="0" width="600" align="center" border="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td><A target="_blank" border=0></A></td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> </tr> <tr> <td><font color="#000000" size="3" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>***Urgent Safeharbor Department Notice***</strong></font></td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> </tr> </tbody> </table> <table cellSpacing="0" cellPadding="5" width="600" align="center" border="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td height="259" vAlign="top"> <p> <font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>eBay Fraud Mediation Request</strong><br> <font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Date: 01 May 2005 </font></font></p> <p><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">You have recieved this email because you or someone had used your account to make fake bids at eBay. For security purposes, we are required to open an investigation into this matter. </font></p> <p><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"> THE FRAUD ALERT ID CODE CONTAINED IN THIS MESSAGE WILL BE ATTACHED IN OUR FRAUD MEDIATION REQUEST FORM, IN ORDER TO VERIFY YOUR ACCOUNT REGISTRATION INFORMATIONS.</font></p> <p><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>Fraud Alert ID CODE: 00937614</strong><br> <font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">(Please save this Fraud Alert ID Code for your reference.</font>)<br> <br> To help speed up this process, please access the following form to complete the verification of your account registration informations:</font></p> <p><strong><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><a target="_blank" href="http://www.blue-easter.com/eBaySuspension/signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dllSignIn-ssPageName-hhsin.php" >http://scgi.ebay.com/verify_id=ebay &fraud alert id code=00937614</a></font></strong></p> <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"> <tr> <td><p><font size="1">.</font></p> </td> </tr> <tr> <td><table width="100%" border="0"> <tr> <td bgcolor="#E6E6FF"><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>Please Note: </strong><br> If we do not receive the appropriate account verification within 48 hours, than we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. <br> The purpose of this verification is to ensure that your account has not been fraudulently used and to combat the fraud from our community.</font></td> </tr> </table></td> </tr> </table> <p><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><font color="#000000">We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.</font></font><font color="#000000" size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><BR> <BR> Thank you for your patience in this matter.</font></p> <p align="left"><font color="#000000" size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Regards, Safeharbor Department (Trust and Safety Department)<br> </font><font size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><br> <br> <font color="#999999" size="1"> Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. </font></font></p> </td> </tr> <tr> <td align="middle" ><p align="center"><font color="#000000" size="1" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><Br> <br> Copyright © 2005 Ebay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Ebay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc. Ebay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125. </font><br> </p> </td> </tr> </tbody> </table> </td></tr></table> </div> </td></tr></table> </td></tr></table> </div> </td></tr></table> </td></tr></table> </div> |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: UK
Posts: 3,541
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I contacted the host, the datacenter, or at least the guys who own the IP. ![]() They're Spanish (and in Spain) so it was hard to contact them, but I sent an English version, and a Babelfish translated version. Hopefully they won't be up for too long. |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: New York City
Posts: 1,676
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I filled it all out using 5. I even chose the 5th U.S. state as where I live. Lol and 55555 as my pin number
__________________ NZs Finest! |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2004 Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,804
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ Free Arcade Games | ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) | ||||
| Revolution Calling! Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: NamePros Avenue
Posts: 5,920
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/the-break-room/86764-ebay.html ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=86764 Nice catch! Contacted Ebay vero via phone. | ||||
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I just reported it to eBay as well.... It's a very common scam, I've received several of the emails in the past. The problem with tracking them down is that they move so fast from one domain to another and they use bogus information so it makes it very difficult for them to be traced. That domain was just registered on 4/30 and has all jumbled up letters for the whois information. That will be up for a day or two and then they will take it down and there will be more that pops up. I feel bad for those innocent folks who aren't aware of the scam and fall for their dirty trick.
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| The original NP Emo Kid Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 1,693
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got the same email, i delete anything like that but also to show how good gmail is...that was in the spam folder lol
__________________ Gaming On Linux - Because Linux is Fun! |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| eBay pricing structure raised! Your help is needed! | tekz999 | Industry News | 51 | 04-11-2005 07:21 PM |
| Received (yet) a new type of eBay scam mail... | Redleg | Warnings & Alerts | 1 | 03-15-2005 12:27 AM |
| Be very careful with ebay spoof emails. | MissFlora | Domain Name Discussion | 14 | 12-09-2004 01:19 PM |
| eBay Buys 25 Percent Stake in San Francisco-Based Web Site Craigslist | Mark | Industry News | 0 | 08-16-2004 03:07 PM |