| | |||||
| ||||||||
| The Break Room Casual discussion about non-industry related topics. |
![]() | NamePros Account Upgrade | Forum Sponsorship |
| Take advantage of our upgraded membership levels (2 levels to choose from) so you can have MORE active sales threads, Custom Titles, A Directory Listing, Invisible Mode, Message Tracking, And MORE! | ||
![]() |
|
486 unique views
| LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||||||
| Guest
Posts: n/a
| Unusual email Happennings- Need Tech Opinion A bunch of mailer Daemons have started showing up @ one of my email addresses.
This came to me approx the same time, (may be related-not sure) which looks like a subtle form of phishing:
Last edited by Grrilla; 04-21-2005 at 04:44 PM.
| ||||||||
| | #2 (permalink) |
| In-House Graphic Designer Join Date: Aug 2004 Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,288
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Do you have an auto-responder? i.e. a message going back to the sender automatically to notify that their email has been received? That happened to one of my accounts. It turned out to be the auto-responder. Hope that helps Thanks. True_Snake
__________________ Logos:PM ME! OVECHKIN.INFO! Rising Star! |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #3 (permalink) |
| Guest
Posts: n/a
| I have the availability, I believe, but have never set it up to do so. But you helped me remember something strange that happenned yesterday. I was bouncing a SPAM email, and twice it froze and crashed my email client, which has never happenned before. I ended up deleting it w/o bounce- but it seemed a little odd that this one email wasn't allowing for a bounce and, in fact, was crashing my email. |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Account Suspended Join Date: Jan 2004 Location: Left Coast
Posts: 3,503
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | a spammer is using your email addy (spoofing you). nothing to get worried about. you may want to contact your host though to let them know to keep an eye open for complaints and explain it isnt you.. he will be able to tell if you let him know. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Admin ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,919
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Yep, looks like mail spoofing to me. They didn't send it through your account, but used your return address. Is your email name relatively common? I had a bad problem with this last year on one of accounts (rj@<commonemailprovider>.net) The spammers just randomly chose the addresses to use as the from and reply-to address. My provider said all two letter email addresses were having the same problem.
__________________ Reach me at rj at namepros dot com |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) | ||||
| In-House Graphic Designer Join Date: Aug 2004 Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,288
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Is there a way to stop that though? Thanks! True_Snake
__________________ Logos:PM ME! OVECHKIN.INFO! Rising Star! | ||||
| |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Man from Manila Join Date: Jul 2003 Location: The Net
Posts: 6,022
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | One thing that might help is SPF (sender policy framework?), which basically defines which servers are allowed to send email from your domain. I understand that not all mail servers respect this protocol, specially the old ones, but enough mail servers use SPF so if your domain is configured for it, then spammers will be better off picking on a none-SPF domain. enom has this option for free. Anyone know other registrars that support this in their DNS options?
__________________ |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||||||||
| NamePros Admin ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,919
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=84275 You can find a lot of info on Google searching for "email spoofing". Here's one, http://www.windowsecurity.com/articl...-Spoofing.html
__________________ Reach me at rj at namepros dot com | ||||||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #9 (permalink) |
| Guest
Posts: n/a
| TX. I can't recall being "spoofed" before, so wasn't exactly sure what was up. I suppose the freeze and crash when attempting to bounce the 2nd email I show was just coincidental. Now that I think about it, I had this prob bouncing email from my PC before- it just didn't tak effect as quickly as it does w/ this OS. (ie tried to bounce fo 1-2 minutes and finally froze) |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2003 Location: Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,684
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Someone is using your email in a spam run. Report every bounce you know you didnt send to www.spamcop.net ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=84275 They are bouncing the spam after its been delivered to their servers. Thats not correct as it should drop it on the From line being for an account that doesnt exist. Also you said you bounce spam back to the from address when you get it. STOP!!! The from address is always fake and you are sending your spam back to a person who didnt send it. If you get one that says its from em and I get it youll be reported to your host/ISP for spam. I know a few other server admins that do the same thing but they also block your ISP/hosts IP blocks into their firewalls/iptables until the ISP/Host deletes your account.
__________________ Been a NP member for 5 or more years? PM me to join the Social Group! |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 345
![]() | Last year I had a porn spammer hijack my 4 letter yahoo email address for his "reply-to" field. What a major headache! Many months and hundreds of daily bounced emails, unsubscribe requests, and of course hate mail. |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,187
![]() ![]() ![]() | Code: 62.235.13.169 Blacklist Status: Clear Record Type: IP Address IP Location: Belgium Belgium - Brussels - Brussels - Tiscali Server Pool Reverse IP: No websites hosted using this IP address Reverse DNS: spoolo3.tiscali.be % This is the RIPE Whois query server #1. % The objects are in RPSL format. % % Rights restricted by copyright. % See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html inetnum: 62.235.13.0 - 62.235.14.255 netname: BE-TISCALI-SERVERS descr: Tiscali Server Pool country: BE admin-c: TBS8-RIPE tech-c: TBS8-RIPE notify: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source status: ASSIGNED PA mnt-by: BE-TISCALI-MNT mnt-lower: BE-TISCALI-MNT mnt-routes: BE-TISCALI-MNT changed: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source 20030325 source: RIPE route: 62.235.0.0/16 descr: Tiscali Belgium origin: AS8266 mnt-by: BE-TISCALI-MNT changed: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source 20020507 source: RIPE role: Tiscali Belgium address: Tiscali Belgium address: Rue de Stassaert n.43 address: B-1050 Bruxelles address: Belgium phone: +32 2 400 36 66 fax-no: +32 2 700 44 03 e-mail: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source admin-c: KH9300-RIPE tech-c: KH9300-RIPE tech-c: JVV10-RIPE tech-c: MS12497-RIPE nic-hdl: TBS8-RIPE remarks: Abuse reports should go to Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source remarks: Network problems should be reported to Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source remarks: Peering requests should go to Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source remarks: DNS Problems should be reported to Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source notify: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source notify: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source notify: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source mnt-by: BE-TISCALI-MNT changed: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source 20030703 changed: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source 20031218 source: RIPE |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Hi :) Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: NC
Posts: 9,537
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It happens to me all the time now - Especially on Gmail .... I was worried at first as well - But after sending a few of them to "support" - They told me not to worry very much about it. I have had to send proof to at least a few upset folks who didn't know how to check further details. ~ Most regular folks out there really have no idea that these things aren't coming from the shown "Sender".
__________________ When the man at the door yelled "Alcohol , Tobacco , and Firearms" .... I just assumed it was a delivery ! |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #16 (permalink) | ||||
| Guest
Posts: n/a
|
| ||||
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Chapter 20 Communications | WebForging | Webmaster Tutorials | 0 | 03-20-2005 03:16 PM |
| HOWTO: Protect Your Email | DarkDevil | Webmaster Tutorials | 12 | 08-17-2004 08:49 PM |
| Top DN Related Prefixes | DomainOgre | Domain Name Discussion | 43 | 04-17-2004 06:18 AM |
| Domain Registration for only $7.43!! | FruitFish | For Sale / Advertising Board | 3 | 09-10-2003 07:40 AM |