NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > The Break Room
Reload this Page Someone Decided to Send Millions of Spam Emails in the QN name....HELP

The Break Room Casual discussion about non-industry related topics.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2004, 01:32 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
 
lotsofissues's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,209
lotsofissues will become famous soon enoughlotsofissues will become famous soon enough
 



Someone Decided to Send Millions of Spam Emails in the QN name....HELP


ev1 has received over 100 complaints -- I urgently need to shut down these subdomains. However, my technical partner who created hte script is on vacation.

The subdomains used to be organized in one folder. Now I can't find them anywhere (he reorganized).

Anyone have ideas where I could locate the folders (6th programmer sense) or any other method of stopping activity on a specific subdomain?

www.qn.com is the service

Thank you.
lotsofissues is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
LeeRyder's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 3,508
LeeRyder is a glorious beacon of lightLeeRyder is a glorious beacon of lightLeeRyder is a glorious beacon of lightLeeRyder is a glorious beacon of lightLeeRyder is a glorious beacon of light
 



are they sending out mail bombs? (thousands of emails to one recipient?)

firstly, I would create a .hta access folder and block the person from the site/ip addy of your company.
LeeRyder is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
RJ
NamePros Webmaster


 
RJ's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,930
RJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatness
 



Find Marrow Donors! Cystic Fibrosis Parkinson's Disease
qn is just a redirection service right? you don't host the actual website? so what folders are you looking for? I would guess it's setup to run from a database, reading the subdomain upon a visit, looking it up in the database, and redirecting them based on a result.

qn.com's homepage is index.php. Reading through the php code in that file may give some clues on how it's setup. Also could be done using a .htaccess file?

100 spam complaints, yikes!
__________________
@DomainBuyer facebook
RJ is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Emeritus
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Break©
Posts: 29,526
Jeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatnessJeff Has achieved greatness
 

NamePros Hall of Fame

Hot topic right now - spam complaints - and they're cracking down hard!
Hoping everything gets straightened away for you very soon, Lots ... I wouldn't know how to advise with the location of the folders, how to shut it all down, etc.

All the best!
__________________
Be cool. Be polite. Be professional.™
Jeff is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 633
theparrot is a jewel in the roughtheparrot is a jewel in the roughtheparrot is a jewel in the rough
 



remove the subdomain from the dns, that would shut them down.

also install spf entries to help prevent them from being used as spoofed addresses (more so for the future then now)
__________________
Need a break? Check out TheDamnBlog.com
Free $6.95 directi accounts at Directi Name Bin
Instant free $8.95 eNom accounts at Dncube.com
theparrot is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 09:22 PM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
 
lotsofissues's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,209
lotsofissues will become famous soon enoughlotsofissues will become famous soon enough
 



RJ - it's just redirection - but the spammers are also advertising sites using qn subdomains.

Parrot - subdomains do not appear in DNS

Neither are there any database entries.

Im at a loss - where to delete these subdomains.
lotsofissues is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
DSL
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,115
DSL is a jewel in the roughDSL is a jewel in the roughDSL is a jewel in the rough
 



Hi your partner first of all is probably using mod_rewrite to do the subdomain redirection. To get rid of the subdomain go into mysql and delete the row where that subdomain is. Therefore if you get complaints you can have proof that that subdomain does not exist.
DSL is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 10:21 PM THREAD STARTER               #8 (permalink)
 
lotsofissues's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,209
lotsofissues will become famous soon enoughlotsofissues will become famous soon enough
 



Hi guys,

I've found a solution! Thanks.
lotsofissues is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 08:23 PM THREAD STARTER               #9 (permalink)
 
lotsofissues's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,209
lotsofissues will become famous soon enoughlotsofissues will become famous soon enough
 



Need help once again - how do I edit a page such as this:

http://www.qn.com/signup.php?username=asdasd I want to note on this page that the account has been disabled. How do I edit a page that has already set an input such as the username in this case?

Thanks.
lotsofissues is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 04:11 AM THREAD STARTER               #10 (permalink)
 
lotsofissues's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,209
lotsofissues will become famous soon enoughlotsofissues will become famous soon enough
 



bumpage
lotsofissues is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 02:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
RJ
NamePros Webmaster


 
RJ's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,930
RJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatness
 



Find Marrow Donors! Cystic Fibrosis Parkinson's Disease
Originally Posted by lotsofissues
Need help once again - how do I edit a page such as this:

http://www.qn.com/signup.php?username=asdasd I want to note on this page that the account has been disabled. How do I edit a page that has already set an input such as the username in this case?

Thanks.
Just edit the .php file in question and add some simple PHP code to it.

PHP Code:
if ($username == "asdasd") { 
?>

This account has been closed due to abuse!  
(Insert HTML here)


<?
exit;
}
__________________
@DomainBuyer facebook
RJ is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:16 PM THREAD STARTER               #12 (permalink)
 
lotsofissues's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,209
lotsofissues will become famous soon enoughlotsofissues will become famous soon enough
 



Thanks RJ
lotsofissues is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger