NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Community > The Break Room
Reload this Page What kind of scam is this?

The Break Room Casual discussion about non-industry related topics.

Advanced Search
6 members in live chat ~  
NamePros Account Upgrade NamePros Account Upgrade
Forum Sponsorship
Take advantage of our upgraded membership levels (2 levels to choose from) so you can have MORE active sales threads, Custom Titles, A Directory Listing, Invisible Mode, Message Tracking, And MORE!



Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2007, 01:54 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 99
fischermx is an unknown quantity at this point
 



What kind of scam is this?


Some days ago, I received a request for one of my domains and the email went like this:
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/the-break-room/348499-what-kind-of-scam-is-this.html

Quote:
Hello,

I would like to purchase your domain example.com (domain name
only, not any site or content).

If you are interested in selling please provide an asking price or we
can submit an offer if you prefer.

Thank you,
I politely replied a price, but didn't receive any answer. I thought it was a serious request until today, I received another request for another domain with the same exact wording!
I'm aware of the "appraisals" scam, but these guys don't even mention an appraisal, so I wonder what is their trick...
fischermx is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dan
Buy my domains.
 
Dan's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,792
Dan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant futureDan has a brilliant future
 


Autism Autism Autism Autism Autism Autism Autism
I got one, too, but I haven't replied yet.
Nice to know it's a fake.
Dan is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,316
IAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
January 2005Member of the Month
February 2007
Ethan Allen Fund Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Save The Children Save The Children Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse VA Tech Memorial Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse
Were they on TDNAM recent wins? I got one (since deleted) that was on a TDNAM that I responded to, only to think better of it after the fact.
-Allan
__________________

Something Witty This Way Comes...
IAmAllanShore is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 265
ehoez.com is an unknown quantity at this point
 



so what? they want you to buy there service?
ehoez.com is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Domains my Dominion
 
sdsinc's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,963
sdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatness
 


Third World Education Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty AIDS/HIV Animal Rescue Wildlife Breast Cancer Animal Rescue Wildlife
Not necessarily a scam .It could be some domainer sending lots of e-mails hoping to find a bargain (or a steal !).
__________________
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
sdsinc is online now  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Rom
Senior Member
 
Rom's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,436
Rom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond reputeRom has a reputation beyond repute
 


Cystic Fibrosis Save a Life Cancer Breast Cancer Animal Rescue Cancer Survivorship Baby Health Baby Health Baby Health Save The Children Save The Children Save The Children VA Tech Memorial Autism Ethan Allen Fund
Scam

"domain name only, not any site or content"

A domainer would never say that.
Rom is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
briman1970's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 3,088
briman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond reputebriman1970 has a reputation beyond repute
 


Ethan Allen Fund
I got the same email for my Casino.rw and never received a reply after I asked them to make an offer.
__________________
Check out MY PORTFOLIO at Sedo!!! (and if you feel froggy, make an offer on one of my domains!)
briman1970 is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger