NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Business & Community Discussion Forums > Business > PPC / CPC / CPM Programs
Reload this Page Just Visited Dictionary.Com; Dismayed To Find It Is No Longer.

PPC / CPC / CPM Programs Earning money with pay per click or per view programs, including domain parking PPC & Adsense - No advertising.

Advanced Search
2 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2005, 11:32 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 341
NP41215 is on a distinguished road
 



Just Visited Dictionary.Com; Dismayed To Find It Is No Longer.


Dictionary.com is now a PPC parking site.

Can anyone tell, from dictionary.com's new PPC appearance, who is the company behind the PPC advertising arrangement?

Certainly doesn't look like DS, DH, Fabulous or Sedo.

No doubt they are getting tons of visitors, although I didn't click.
NP41215 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
taheny's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 632
taheny has a spectacular aura abouttaheny has a spectacular aura about
 



It doesn't look like a PPC to me. Just looking at the front page, it seems all in-house content except for two graphic advertisements.
taheny is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 01:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Scott's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,541
Scott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond reputeScott has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
February 2005

Maybe you "typo'd" dctionary.com
Scott is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 01:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
RJ
NamePros Admin


 
RJ's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,919
RJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatness
 



Find Marrow Donors! Cystic Fibrosis Parkinson's Disease
False alarm?

http://dictionary.com directs to http://dictionary.reference.com/ for me, as always.
__________________
Reach me at rj at namepros dot com
RJ is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 02:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultima Ratio Regum
 
Redleg's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,080
Redleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to beholdRedleg is a splendid one to behold
 



Originally Posted by NP41215
Dictionary.com is now a PPC parking site.

Can anyone tell, from dictionary.com's new PPC appearance, who is the company behind the PPC advertising arrangement?

Certainly doesn't look like DS, DH, Fabulous or Sedo.

No doubt they are getting tons of visitors, although I didn't click.
Sounds like you may have got some spyware/adware on your computer...
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/ppc-cpc-cpm-programs/65112-just-visited-dictionary-com-dismayed-find.html

It's probably a good idea to download and run the latest versions of ad-aware and spybot S&D just to be sure..

http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html
and
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

Use this one to analyze your hijackthis logfile
http://www.hijackthis.de/index.php#

Good luck..
__________________
IP Whois + Geolocation|Geolocate your IP|Dynamic Forum Sigs
<meta name="Jedi Mind Trick" content="Buy my domains, you will!">
Redleg is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 02:31 AM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 341
NP41215 is on a distinguished road
 



Originally Posted by Scott
Maybe you "typo'd" dctionary.com
Yes, it was a typo.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=65112

I typed: http://dictonary.com

So who is behind dictonary.com?

Originally Posted by Redleg
Sounds like you may have got some spyware/adware on your computer...

It's probably a good idea to download and run the latest versions of ad-aware and spybot S&D just to be sure..

http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html
and
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

Use this one to analyze your hijackthis logfile
http://www.hijackthis.de/index.php#

Good luck..
Thanks for your concern and help. I just discovered it was a typo i.e. http://dictonary.com

I should have been more careful.
NP41215 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 03:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
Veolus's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,308
Veolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud ofVeolus has much to be proud of
 



yeah its most likely to be spyware/adware i think
Veolus is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 09:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,316
IAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
January 2005Member of the Month
February 2007
Ethan Allen Fund Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Save The Children Save The Children Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse VA Tech Memorial Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse
Originally Posted by NP41215
I just discovered it was a typo i.e. http://dictonary.com

I should have been more careful.
If I had a $ for every time a mistyped domain freaked me out, I'd be about $4 a day richer.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=65112

-Allan
__________________

Something Witty This Way Comes...
IAmAllanShore is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 09:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Your Domains
 
Nexus's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 222
Nexus is on a distinguished road
 



Originally Posted by IAmAllanShore
If I had a $ for every time a mistyped domain freaked me out, I'd be about $4 a day richer. -Allan
You could still make serious bank if you throw it into reverse and keep a log of the ones that don't resolve.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=65112

~ Nexus
__________________
FreeWho.com - Free Internet Tools!
Nexus is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sunken's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,279
sunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud of
 



If I had every typo domain that people typed in, I'd be rich...
sunken is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 07:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 245
ichibaka is on a distinguished road
 



If you hover over the links, it would appear to be overture.com, but there are individual ads as well underneath. My guess is they are feeding the sponsor link, but from where we'll have to ask overture.com )p
ichibaka is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 AM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger