| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Industry News Reporting and discussion of the latest news affecting the Internet industries. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,226
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | |
| Quote: |
|
Greg says: ****-**.com ? Eddie says: do not search forit Greg says: why Eddie says: they got spy bots Greg says: who has Eddie says: I just got a email for the people who brought ******.com Greg says: wat Eddie says: they spye Greg says: WHO DID! Eddie says: they spy on people domain namesearchs Eddie says: they gave no name Greg says: what email addy Eddie says: fake@-.com Greg says: $370 for ****-**.com Greg says: i went to the site Eddie says: evail people Greg says: So you really got a email Greg says: what was this site that you use to find it Greg says: eddy Greg says: eddie Greg says: where did you search Eddie says: wher Eddie says: ukreg.com Eddie says: you? Greg says: namepros.com Eddie says: thats why Greg says: it ain't Eddie says: i bet they record every search at that place Greg says: Ron is a nice guy, he wouldn't do that Eddie says: he would Eddie says: he got to make money Eddie says: he acts nice Greg says: the adverts make loads Eddie says: ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/industry-news/95830-ukreg-com-spybots.html the $340 will make him loads Greg says: i didn't search for that one Greg says: that was one i just went on Greg says: talktv was the one you looked up Eddie says: This is wrong Eddie says: why would reg123.com buy that Eddie says: reguk.com Eddie says: i mean |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I swear that some sites must have spybots. You see, a few times Ive been on a domain reg site, found an amazing domain, topped up my account, and then when I come back 5 mins later the domains gone....
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: Gods Backyard
Posts: 1,680
![]() ![]() ![]() | A quick check of the whois would help sort this out name of owner and site where the domain is registered should help u. Please post the name if this is the case. However almost all domain sites have log records of each domain search ive built a few sites for people and this feature is very easy 2 add. imo i dont think namepros will be to blame there pretty honest around here and i dont think RJ would want to risk a bad name just 2 make a few quick bucks. But All domains are open everyone soon as they have dropped or found (Not defending the actions of this person as this is very bad practice and gives domain resellers a bad name). 1 thing i might suggest if this name is very vaulable to keep the details of the email and make a claim the name was registered in bad faith if you have the funds to do it. However $370 is a lot cheaper but i would not give the person the satisfaction and would file a complaint if i was u.
__________________ http://www.ukbusinesspage.com Free UK Business Listings. http://www.birdshop.co.uk one of many sites. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,226
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Unable to fetch WHOIS results. www.****-**.com may be available to register! Unable to fetch WHOIS results. www.******.com may be available to register! For both sites it is the same. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I don't understand, whats stopping you from regging them then?
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | hm, where are you checking the whois? Check the whois at whois.sc
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Florida
Posts: 596
![]() ![]() | I've had tis happen before when I went to register www.frogs.ws on enom? Said it was available then it was taken in 2 minutes thought this was very odd |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| New.Net Destroyer.... Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,947
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I think its illegal for them to do it.... but Im pretty sure that some people must be monitoring it.
__________________ “It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker, that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.” - Adam Smith |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Hi :) Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: NC
Posts: 9,537
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Those so called advertisements in this section : http://www.namepros.com/registerindex.php Are Not really advertisements - They are there to be reviewed ..... There is no real Advertisements in there - Just reviews ~ ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=95830 As far as a Domain being shown available one minute and not available the next minute .... This happens all the time , and is usually just a whois error. Sometimes it may be just several folks having the same idea at the same time as well ... But at least once a week someone brags about purchasing a domain that was not really available in the first place ~ www.internic.net/whois.html and www.whois.sc are two of my most used whois sources. |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: AcornDomains.co.uk
Posts: 114
![]() | A domain going before you regged it I can understand but getting an email from them saying it is for sale? How did they know you were interested? Sounds dodgy to me. Can you check the IP address of the email you received? Right click the email in Outlook / Options / Internet Headers will show the source IP address
__________________ Domain Sales | Domain Software | Flash Templates | Domain Auctions for UK Only Domains |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2004 Location: E.U.
Posts: 1,038
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Is this a problem with an outdated whois script or some registars can modify whois records for each domain? ...
__________________ WebProxy.cc - Browse what & when you want! :kickass: Brand New Media Site Script MyMediaScript.com:kickass: | ||||
| |
| | #15 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: Naperville Illinois
Posts: 1,786
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Based on your whois results you posted, the whois script was down because it said info unavailable. If you are talking about talk-tv.com, its been registered for 6 months now.
__________________
| ||||
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Ravaged By Age Join Date: Jun 2004 Location: PST + 8
Posts: 3,502
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Enom have a similar flaw in their system. You see examples offered similar to the name you want and all extensions are gone bar the .com. After youve leaped for joy and try to regged, it appears to have gone, not gone, just always regged.....
__________________ |
| |
| | #17 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,998
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Just because it is illegal will not stop them... And all domain registering companies moniter the domain searches. I see why you are irritated though!
__________________ FREE Xbox Live Gold codes added daily! | ||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #19 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,226
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| UKREG.com | dc1pop | Domain Registrar Reviews | 5 | 03-30-2008 10:57 AM |