| |||||||
| Industry News Reporting and discussion of the latest news affecting the Internet industries. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | Network Solutions + Unethical go hand and hand. Here's the latest. Try and do a search for some random available name on their site. Make up anything, dkfhgkjhd.com etc etc. Now go to Moniker or another registrar and attempt to register it. Name will say unavailable. Wonder why? Because netsol has decided they want to hold that name hostage and force you to reg it at their site for $34.99. Talk about sneaky, shady, and underhanded. My advice would be to steer clear of Network Solutions when searching for available names. Wonder how many other registrars are going to follow the lead.
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more.... |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | Wow. I just tried that using Fab and Netsol, and you are right! Perhaps we should do an exhaustive search of all 63 character .com's. People keep talking about the LLLL sellout. This would be the 63L sellout. Very sleazy netsol, very sleazy. Marc
__________________ . (Just another mathematician obsessed with proving P != NP -- that is a math joke for job security) Smile! In a few short years you will realize that these are the good old days! |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| The Buddha Of Bubbas | Maybe it is still in your shopping cart? Perhaps they are holding it for you while it is in there for a specific duration?
__________________ For Sale Only $25: TacticsForum.com |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | lol, from another forum: http://whois.domaintools.com/wearecybersquatters.com http://whois.domaintools.com/we-laugh-at-icann.com This could actually be pretty fun.
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more.... |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Just doing this The LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL LLLLLLLLLLLLL.com countdown begins ! LolQuote:
| |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) | |
| NamePros Regular | Quote:
Marc
__________________ . (Just another mathematician obsessed with proving P != NP -- that is a math joke for job security) Smile! In a few short years you will realize that these are the good old days! | |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Quote:
![]() I really don't like seeing this, though. I wonder how long they hold the domain... | |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | NetSol owns some super end user greedy domains now like adsafdiarhehugtbdjhfjghfoigdusohtrbdkgfhdugf.com nfghhdhgjhghggjfhgjhgjhdjhfjdghjfhghhghghg.com alpondfdsnhdfshfudhfudshfdbvbdsb.com How unethical. This is domain theft. Seriously, this is a very very big issue. People only vehiculated whether whois searches are sold, and to whom, but this is a prime example when one of the biggest registrars in the world does this. |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Quote:
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more.... | |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | That is really, really scummy. Network Solutions is famous for being scummy and underhanded. It has been that way since the very early days of domaining. Back in 96' they were putting a $30 surcharge per domain on each order, in which a judge found to be an "illegal tax" and therefore ruled the $30 charge had to be terminated. Go figure..... we never got our "illegal tax" money back from them which probably amounted to a six figure number for our company, all told. Domains after the ruling dropped from $100 a domain to $70 a domain and NetSol was the only game in town - so you had to buy from them still. Then BulkRegister came along to put them in check with $10 domains. This company will not stop at anything. Absolutely ruthless and scummy. Only ICANN can stop this kinda' crap. |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| No Country for Old Domainers ... Member Services | This is all over the web already (At least in our circles) - It will be a huge story IMO .. Not the first time they have been called out in this way. Remember when all non-registered .com's were resolving to them ? |
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Senior Member |
__________________ .::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more.... |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | Not cool at all. They are going to get so much aggro after this.. But surely this is costing them a lot of needless money? O_o Maybe it's just me. Joe Edit: Just did a reg in live chat: NameProsIsSimplyTheBestEver.com Immediately registered. Sorry if anyone wanted this name.
__________________ Fused Hosting Simplicity and Superiority. █████████████████████████████████████████████ Affordable web hosting solutions; shared, reseller, shoutcast, WHMSonic, proxy, dedicated and more! My computer is broken; new components have been ordered. ![]() Last edited by TheArbiter; 01-08-2008 at 11:03 AM. |
| |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | Thats pretty unbelievable.... NSI - just pulling some unethical moves.
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" |
| |
| | #20 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | Hey, you know what this means to some domainers??? Every time you see a domain in whois that says it can be registered at NetSol a domainer could go reg it and hold it until the original searcher comes back wanting it. Or, just keep it. I think we ought to call this method of domaining, "Second-Tier Domain Squatting", or maybe, "Pre-Searched Domain Acquisitions". Unless of course it is a generic domain, then all is cool, sort of.... |
| |
| | #22 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | I just wonder if they're tasting any of these names for traffic and then keeping them if they don't get registered through their site within a certain timeframe. I guess it's technically not illegal but it sure is unethical business practice. Quote:
| |
| |
| | #23 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Quote:
As an industry, our best defense is to not support them and tell others not to support them because of their ethical practices. We're playing their unethical game by purposely exploiting their system. | |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |