NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Industry News
Reload this Page Microsoft Sues Domain Name Registrar for Typosquatting

Industry News Reporting and discussion of the latest news affecting the Internet industries.

Advanced Search
2 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2007, 01:53 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Account Suspended
 
Adatise's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 50
Adatise is on a distinguished road
 



Microsoft Sues Domain Name Registrar for Typosquatting


I ran across this blog recently. I thought it was worth sharing. Microsoft has sued domain name registrar Red Register claiming that it is illegally profiting from Microsoft's trademarks.

In a lawsuit filed in Seattle earlier this month Microsoft alleges that Red Register snatched up 125 domain names, all "confusingly similar to Microsoft's Marks" in order to profit from Web advertising, a practice known as typosquatting and cybersquatting.

Web surfers may be tricked into clicking on ads on these sites "because the person finds it easier to click on the advertisement or hyperlink than to continue searching for the Microsoft site, or because the person mistakenly believes Microsoft has authorized or endorsed the advertisements," the filings state.

Typosquatting is the practice of registering domain names that contain misspellings of trademark terms. Cybersquatting is the registration of a variant of trademark.

Red Register owns domains such as windowslivecare.com, msnmesnger.com, and ageofmathology.com, Microsoft said in court filings.

Microsoft is seeking to take control of the Red Register domains and is asking for the court to fine the company for unspecified damages. The lawsuit was filed Dec. 4 in King County Superior Court in Seattle.

Although the domains are now registered to a Tortola, Virgin Islands, company named Versata Software, they were previously registered to Red Register and Microsoft believes the current Versata registration information to be false, the filings state.

Domain registrars historically made money by registering domain names to third parties, but that has changed as it has become easier to get into the domain name game. Now many registrars have begun to amass portfolios of domains themselves, or even temporarily registering domains and then dropping them before they are required to pay any fees, a practice called "domain tasting," said Karl Kronenberger, a partner with Kronenberger Burgoyne LLP, a law firm specializing in Internet disputes.

Some companies have even set up several domain name registrars and they pass their domain names from one to the other without ever having to pay fees. This is possible, because domains can be held for three days before any fees are due, Kronenberger said.

Registrars must be accredited by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), the group that oversees the Internet's domain name system, but once that has happened they can get better access to the database of domain names. Companies like Microsoft and Google have become accredited registrars for this reason.

There are presently more than 1,000 registrars worldwide, according to Kronenberger. "It costs US$8,000 per year to maintain your existence as a registrar," he said. "once you pay that, you can register domains very cheaply."

Some registrars have amassed valuable portfolios without running afoul of trademark law, but Microsoft's Red Register lawsuit is not unprecedented. In October, Yahoo filed a similar lawsuit against Belgium Domains. One month later another lawsuit was filed against Belgium Domains, this time by Dell.

Kronenberger said the Microsoft lawsuit "seems to be a pretty straightforward case of a registrar registering large batches of domains containing trademarks."

Microsoft has filed at least five other similar lawsuits in recent years. In March it announced that reached a $2 million settlement against Jason Cox of New Mexico and Newtonarch LLC. It also announced a $1 million settlement in a similar suit against Partner IV Holdings. Perhaps this should be in the Legal Issues & Disputes section.
Last edited by Adatise; 12-26-2007 at 07:42 AM.
Adatise is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
labrocca's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 6,268
labrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatness
 



Child Abuse Child Abuse
Looks like Red Register just went out of business.
__________________
:$: Support Forum <-- My latest endeavor.:loveyou:
Debate Forums Free Online Sudoku My vBum Blog
labrocca is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sohil's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,337
Sohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to allSohil is a name known to all
 



Read about it earlier on Yahoo, let's see what happens...
__________________
•• PolurNET Communications LLC
=Avoid the Freeze...Enjoy the Breeze!=
Sohil is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 240
MyNet-Tony is on a distinguished road
 



Good. Three days ago they registered the .net of a domain I just launched. I hope Microsoft bankrupts them.
__________________
TheTVRemote.com
MyNet-Tony is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
FPForum's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,801
FPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant futureFPForum has a brilliant future
 



Animal Cruelty Animal Rescue
That's some pretty obvious cybersquating. I wouldn't be surprised to see Microsoft win the case but if the domains are now registered overseas is it even possible for microsoft to get them? I mean I guess they could goto ICANN but then what about all the other typos of msnmessenger, office product domains, and others?
FPForum is online now  
Old 01-07-2008, 05:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
duceman's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indy
Posts: 2,270
duceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to beholdduceman is a splendid one to behold
 


Third World Education Adoption Autism Marrow Donor Program Animal Rescue
I find it funny that a registrar would "poke the bear with a stick".

How many times have we seen "M"ike ro soft take out its sledge hammer and start swinging?

There is something for newbies to learn here. If you sell, trade, give, transfer a known TM sensitive name you can still be legally on the hook. If you get a C&D letter and you know that you are in the wrong, de-register the name or transfer the name to the TM holder and ask for forgiveness.
duceman is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 06:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Easydoms's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: golfered.com
Posts: 1,109
Easydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really nice
 


Animal Cruelty Save a Life Wildlife Autism
A very good pointer for all newbies, there is always a minority of people who try to take the p**s and profit from others.

Who in there right mind would take on microsoft!!!!

Would be interesting to see how long Red Register last!!
Easydoms is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 09:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
mrizos's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
mrizos is on a distinguished road
 



dopes....bye bye.
mrizos is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 04:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Jiblob's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: .co.uk
Posts: 2,237
Jiblob is just really niceJiblob is just really niceJiblob is just really niceJiblob is just really nice
 




One for the "List of Microsoft Acquisitions" page on Wikipedia
__________________
:hi:
Jiblob is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 AM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger