NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Industry News
Reload this Page Fraudsters scam registrar Melbourne IT

Industry News Reporting and discussion of the latest news affecting the Internet industries.

Advanced Search
2 members in live chat ~  


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2003, 04:04 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
RJ
NamePros Admin


 
RJ's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,919
RJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatness
 



Find Marrow Donors! Cystic Fibrosis Parkinson's Disease

Notice Fraudsters scam registrar Melbourne IT


Full story at
http://www.vnunet.com/News/1139545

Quote:

Conmen have hijacked the name of domain registrar Melbourne IT in an attempt to get their hands on renewal payments for domain names.
The fraudsters are targeting holders of global domain names, including those ending in the suffix .com and .biz.

An email that purports to come from Melbourne IT, which is accredited by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (Icann) and works with more than 700 resellers worldwide, tells customers that their domain names need to be renewed.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/industry-news/184-fraudsters-scam-registrar-melbourne-it.html

But the rogue email incorrectly insists that, no matter which reseller they registered their name through, they must now make their payments online directly to Melbourne IT.

Customers are then directed to a bogus website to enter their credit card details.
__________________
Reach me at rj at namepros dot com
RJ is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger