NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Dot MOBI
Reload this Page Informed (Warned) a Company

Dot MOBI Discussion of the .MOBI TLD

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2007, 02:07 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 232
Long-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of lightLong-EZ is a glorious beacon of light
 



Informed (Warned) a Company


I let a good size company who has a name and business (Trademarked ) that is a great fit for .mobi that their name .mobi was available.
They were not aware of .mobi

It is now their move. I will let you know if I hear any more of this. I will check on the name in a few weeks to see if they did anything.

I will keep you posted once they do something.

I told them I was not going to steal the name or try to make any $$ off them but that they better do something soon or the next guy will want $5000 for the name.

So do you think I am crazy?
__________________
:) BuyFrugal.com
:love: Laser Image Arts.com :love: FuelFrenzy.com
Long-EZ is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
CharlieA's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 376
CharlieA is a jewel in the roughCharlieA is a jewel in the roughCharlieA is a jewel in the rough
 



Crazy? Nah.

You just might get some kind of thank-you letter or Good Samaritan reward from them if they're extremely grateful.
__________________
Turn Your Parked Domains Into Stores!
<< High Paying Cost Per Click

Make A Pay Per Click Store For Your Parked Domains!
<< Hassle Free and Customizable
CharlieA is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
Pred's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6,713
Pred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond reputePred has a reputation beyond repute
 


Animal Cruelty AIDS/HIV Animal Rescue Protect Our Planet
Originally Posted by Long-EZ
I let a good size company who has a name and business (Trademarked ) that is a great fit for .mobi that their name .mobi was available.
They were not aware of .mobi

It is now their move. I will let you know if I hear any more of this. I will check on the name in a few weeks to see if they did anything.

I will keep you posted once they do something.

I told them I was not going to steal the name or try to make any $$ off them but that they better do something soon or the next guy will want $5000 for the name.

So do you think I am crazy?
i say well done. it may be another company that develop a mobi & that helps the cause. every registration helps the extension.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/dot-mobi/296596-informed-warned-a-company.html
good for you
Pred is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Melbourne
Posts: 349
panman is on a distinguished road
 



I actually emailed 2 big australian companies, one being a tourist company, the other a well known radio station with the same intent-just to make them aware of this new tld release. I wanted no money for it(even stating that in my emails), and thought it would be in their best interest to redg it.

Now 2 months on, the names have since been registered- by others.

Their Loss!
panman is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mjnels's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 2,181
mjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant futuremjnels has a brilliant future
 



Originally Posted by Long-EZ
I let a good size company who has a name and business (Trademarked ) that is a great fit for .mobi that their name .mobi was available.
They were not aware of .mobi

It is now their move. I will let you know if I hear any more of this. I will check on the name in a few weeks to see if they did anything.

I will keep you posted once they do something.

I told them I was not going to steal the name or try to make any $$ off them but that they better do something soon or the next guy will want $5000 for the name.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=296596

So do you think I am crazy?

no, in fact i think it would be interesting if someone told 100 companies that were a good fit for .mobi and see what they do...
mjnels is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
advaita's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,518
advaita is just really niceadvaita is just really niceadvaita is just really niceadvaita is just really nice
 



If you warn them and they still don't register it then surely that woud give you more of a right to go ahead and register it without the risk of being sued. Or is that too macchiavelian ?
advaita is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 07:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
space101's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 525
space101 is just really nicespace101 is just really nicespace101 is just really nicespace101 is just really nice
 



I think that even after you telling them about the name and telling them they need to pick it up, and they didnt heed your advice screw them. Big business never has the vision to look forward. And besides I sure they have $15 bucks laying around.

Ah well whoever picked it up I hope they make a killing
__________________
Facebook Uk
space101 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
. .. deaol.com .. .
 
Deaol's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Desolation Snd, B.C.
Posts: 2,268
Deaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant futureDeaol has a brilliant future
 


Ethan Allen Fund
I did a similar thing to a local "Mobile Based" sport gaming site that had their main site directed towards a .tv site. I notified them that their name on the .mobi tld was available and should register it to save any issues in the future. I recieved a thank you email and a subscription to use their service for free for a year

sometimes it pays to let people know
Deaol is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
labrocca's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 6,277
labrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatnesslabrocca Has achieved greatness
 



Child Abuse Child Abuse
I don't see the point in bothering to do what you did except to maybe promote mobi. You certainly aren't a company employee and it's not your job to be the TM watchdog for big companies..but it's your time to do with as you please...personally I think it's fruitless to contact major companies that are usually entangled in bureaucracy.
__________________
:$: Support Forum <-- My latest endeavor.:loveyou:
Debate Forums Free Online Sudoku My vBum Blog
Last edited by labrocca; 02-20-2007 at 11:01 PM.
labrocca is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 11:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Melbourne
Posts: 349
panman is on a distinguished road
 



Shortly after posting my message on this thread I decided to inform another radio station, which incidentally I also listen too quite regularly.

Doing a whois on this name 2hrs later I found this name to be taken-thinking "oh good for them to get their name"

Looking down the list it was not the Company but merely someone wanting to take an opportunity to exploit this name! (as normally it is the company listed as the Admin section of whois)

Is this a pure coincidence?... yes maybe,.. but I think not, someone here has gone and redgd this name shortly after my post-trying to squat this name. If you are reading this (member or no member) be very careful in what you register, furthermore I look like an idiot as my name is now on the email I sent to this company saying the name is available. Enough said. I apologise Long E-Z for saying this in your posted thread!
panman is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger