NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page How is my domain getting hi-jacked?

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2009, 06:28 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
winnie is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Help! How is my domain getting hi-jacked?


I've had a domain for a couple of years that I have not gotten around to doing anything with, so it only has a "Coming Soon" banner on it. But over the past few months I am getting mail in the catch-all account for that domain from angry people demanding their money back or asking for details on invoices and charges against their credit cards.
Can someone tell me how my domain name is being hijacked and used to get money from these people? And what I can do about it? I hope the domain name hasn't been black listed at this point.
I just don't see how the name is being used when it isn't even active.
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
www.DataCube.com
 
bmugford's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 5,819
bmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatness
 


Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Cancer Survivorship Cancer Survivorship Cancer Cancer Breast Cancer Breast Cancer Parkinson's Disease Alzheimer's SIDS Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS)
It is really hard to know what you are talking about without the specifics starting with the domain name.

Brad
__________________
DataCube.com - Buy and Sell Premium Domains
Add Me on Facebook
bmugford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:27 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
winnie is an unknown quantity at this point
 



The domain name


is edatajobs.com. I still own it; I checked with the registrar and it is still showing in my list of domain names. But i don't understand why I keep getting emails from individuals asking for their money back. When I respond to those people and ask where they got the name from, they say edatajobs.com, but there isn't anything published under that domain but a starter page.

I hate to sound dumb about this, but I don't know enough about the domain name end of the business.

Thanks for your help.
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
www.DataCube.com
 
bmugford's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 5,819
bmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatness
 


Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Cancer Survivorship Cancer Survivorship Cancer Cancer Breast Cancer Breast Cancer Parkinson's Disease Alzheimer's SIDS Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS)
You have private registration on that domain?

The situation is confusing, there would need to be more info provided to get to the bottom of it. How are the people being billed and for what product? etc

Brad
__________________
DataCube.com - Buy and Sell Premium Domains
Add Me on Facebook
bmugford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Membership Director

 
mis_chiff's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,207
mis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatness
 


Member of the Month
November 2007
Save a Life VA Tech Memorial Breast Cancer Protect Our Planet Protect Our Planet
Originally Posted by winnie View Post
I've had a domain for a couple of years that I have not gotten around to doing anything with, so it only has a "Coming Soon" banner on it. But over the past few months I am getting mail in the catch-all account for that domain from angry people demanding their money back or asking for details on invoices and charges against their credit cards.
Can someone tell me how my domain name is being hijacked and used to get money from these people? And what I can do about it? I hope the domain name hasn't been black listed at this point.
I just don't see how the name is being used when it isn't even active.
Looks like there has been some funny stuff going on with
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/599585-how-my-domain-getting-hi-jacked.html
this domain...just google it
myLot - Edatajobs.com-Stay away
and
edatajobs.com

all about scams.

and here's another you can probably track/contact
http://bloggerparty.com/make_money_with_edata_jobs

Follow some of that stuff and you might get some answers!

Could also be getting confused with
http://edatajob.com/
Last edited by mis_chiff; 07-28-2009 at 08:18 PM.
mis_chiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Member
 
oliviaheart's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 118
oliviaheart is a jewel in the rougholiviaheart is a jewel in the rougholiviaheart is a jewel in the rough
 




Originally Posted by mis_chiff View Post
...
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=599585

Could also be getting confused with
eDataJob.com - Make Money From Home!
That is what I think is happening...
__________________
if ($link == "me")
{
echo "
http://oliviaheart.com";
}
oliviaheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:06 AM THREAD STARTER               #7 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
winnie is an unknown quantity at this point
 



You are correct. I can't believe I didn't catch that. Guess that is why there is such a great market for typo domain names. Thanks for your input.
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report Completed Domain Name Sales Here RJ Domain Name Discussion 3866 Yesterday 10:15 PM
300 PLUS Domain Names For Sale. Any offers will be considered. thewizardofsales Domains For Sale - Make Offer 20 04-30-2009 12:51 PM
Redemption Grace Period TopNames.com Domain Newbies 1 07-31-2007 12:04 PM
PPC Domain Manager Script Now Available! Cyphix Scripts For Sale 8 04-01-2005 02:50 AM

Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger