| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: Emerald Cove, Unformed
Posts: 177
![]() ![]() | Fake domain interests (earthlink) There seems to be alot of fake "spam" from people who claim to be interested in buying a domain of mine, and they are all from different earthlink email addresses... interesting When replied, either their mailbox dont exist, or are too full or whatever..Have you had similar experiences with the following addresses?: fanhouse@earthlink.net gardeninteractive@earthlink.net
__________________ Shannara Corporation: CEO |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: Emerald Cove, Unformed
Posts: 177
![]() ![]() | Maybe I should call up Earthlink to have the spammers shut down or risk being sued
__________________ Shannara Corporation: CEO |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,747
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| |
| | #5 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert ![]() Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,332
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/59495-fake-domain-interests-earthlink.html No personal jurisdiction, no chance of getting them ;-) -Allan
__________________ Something Witty This Way Comes... | ||||
| |
| | #6 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=59495 I've reported plenty of spammers to their providers in the past and most have been a success.
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. | ||||
| |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: ANForum
Posts: 5,218
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | sometimes, the email of innocent ictims are used!
__________________ |www.vb-skins.com|- Quality Premade Vbulletin skins for Your VB forum makeover |www.Banjir.com|-Free image hosting?[B]For Sale!|AlphaScripts|Money Generating Scripts FREE VB Skins |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. | ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NamePros Supporter Join Date: Jul 2003 Location: TX
Posts: 1,818
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I've gotten e-mails from those jerks too. Does anyone know why they would want to pretend they are interested in buying domains? What is the actual scam or their mission? (Besides pissing alot of people off) |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #12 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2003 Location: Emerald Cove, Unformed
Posts: 177
![]() ![]() | Well, the last I heard, You can send in the info to the ISP, and if they do not shut them down with in 30 days, the ISP is liable for each piece of spam sent..... .... So if you send in the info to Earthlink, followed by a phone call (would be good to mail them w/ forced sig). Write down the time/date. Wait 30 days. If you still get emails from the same reported email accounts, take earthlink to court for refusal to quit spaming, and for the Bulk Mail code. The difference here is that the same account/address is still being used and Earthlink have been made aware of it by both phone, email and snail mail with signature. They now have no choise but to shut down the account. If the account is still in use, the ISP is now responsible for allowing the spamming to continue. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=59495 So you can get them for spamming (depending on your state laws), AND $500 for each piece of email you recieve from the reported accounts.http://www.osnews.com/bulk.php Should work, eh? Ur thoughts please.
__________________ Shannara Corporation: CEO |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| *Epitome.Of.Pulchritude* Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,136
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Spams are automatically filtered into my trash bins. Does that mean I'm automatically throwing $500/email away? Shesh, should not have filtered them, haha. The reason they want to spam you those mails about buying your domains are to later on convince you into getting an appraisal of the domain value. And as everyone should know, the appraisal company that they "insist" on using, will be someone from their own flock. After paying for the appraisal etc, they will either not respond to your mails or just say that they're no longer interested in the deal anymore. And thus, they earned from there. This is one of the many types of scams from appraisal companies. So better be careful with the $$ you're spending. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=59495 Flora.
__________________ %%- 29th May NP Auction at 8pm EDT/5pm PDT/12am UTC %%- Drop-by when you are free: 1-after-1 NP$ .info Auction Toronto Summer 2011: Book NOW! | For Sale: CrazyScript.com - comes with some traffic! |
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| *Epitome.Of.Pulchritude* Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,136
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | That's good, just beware of scammers who live out of our pockets. Flora.
__________________ %%- 29th May NP Auction at 8pm EDT/5pm PDT/12am UTC %%- Drop-by when you are free: 1-after-1 NP$ .info Auction Toronto Summer 2011: Book NOW! | For Sale: CrazyScript.com - comes with some traffic! |
| |